Data Centers Near Me
Data centers on record in Cook County, IL
Every campus this county has a public record for, with its status, who it is on record to, and the document each claim rests on. Compiled Sep 17, 2026.
On record
54
Operating
31
Withdrawn or rejected
2
This is a compilation of public records, not a register. A campus can exist without appearing in a filing we read, and a filing can be out of date. Everything here is traceable: the sources section at the back lists the document behind every claim, with the date it carried.
1. What is on record
54 data center campuses are on record in Cook County, 31 of them operating. 2 more are recorded as withdrawn or rejected and are counted separately.
| Status | What it means | Campuses |
|---|---|---|
| Operating | Recorded as in service. | 31 |
| Under construction | Building work is recorded as under way. | 1 |
| Permitted | A permit or approval is on record. Construction may not have started. | 10 |
| Proposed | Someone has proposed it. Nothing has been approved and nothing is being built. | 12 |
| Withdrawn | The applicant withdrew it. | 2 |
Capacity
Megawatt figures come from two very different places and are never added together. No government record in this county states a capacity. A further 1,482 MW is claimed by commercial directories across 27 of 54, which we repeat with attribution and do not treat as measured.
2. Every campus in Cook County
| Campus | Status | On record to | Where | Capacity | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Barrington Hills Data Center | Withdrawn | Owner not resolved | Barrington Hills | not stated | 1 |
| Karis Critical Plum Farms Data Center | Withdrawn | Owner not resolved | Hoffman Estates (Cook County) | not stated | 2, 3 |
| Aligned Energy | Operating | Aligned Data Centers | 505 NORTHWEST AVE | not stated | 1, 4, 5 |
| Apotech | Operating | Owner not resolved | Mount Prospect | not stated | 1 |
| Coresite | Operating | CoreSite | 1432 S CLINTON ST | not stated | 1, 4, 5 |
| Coresite | Operating | CoreSite | 427 LASALLE ST | not stated | 1, 4, 5 |
| Cyxtera Communications LLC Ch2/Ch4 | Operating | CenterSquare | 350 E CERMAK | not stated | 1, 4, 5 |
| DataBank Chicago (ORD2) | Operating | Likely Serverfarm One circumstantial signal, not a document chain. | 840 South Canal Street | not stated | 1, 5, 6 |
| DataBank Chicago (ORD3) | Operating | Owner not resolved | Mount Prospect | not stated | 1, 6 |
| Digital Realty CH1 | Operating | Likely Digital Realty One circumstantial signal, not a document chain. | 1400 DEVON AVE | not stated | 1, 4, 5 |
| Digital Realty CH2 | Operating | Likely Digital Realty One circumstantial signal, not a document chain. | 2299 Busse Road | not stated | 5 |
| Digital Realty Chicago ORD12 | Operating | Likely Digital Realty One circumstantial signal, not a document chain. | 9401 W GRAND AVE | not stated | 1, 4, 5 |
| Digital Realty Trust LP | Operating | Digital Realty | 600-780 S FEDERAL | not stated | 1, 4, 5 |
| Edgeconnex | Operating | EdgeConneX | 1800 NICHOLAS BLVD | not stated | 4, 5, 6 |
| Equinix LLC | Operating | Equinix | 1905 LUNT AVE | not stated | 1, 4, 5 |
| GigeNET CHI3 | Operating | Owner not resolved | Arlington Heights | not stated | 1 |
| Iron Mountain CHI-1 | Operating | Owner not resolved | street precision | not stated | 6 |
| Iron Mountain Data & Record Storage | Operating | Likely Iron Mountain One circumstantial signal, not a document chain. | 2425 South Halsted Street | not stated | 1, 5 |
| Level(3) Chicago (Canal) | Operating | Owner not independently traced Listed as Lumen Technologies by DataCentersExposed. We have not verified that against a filing. | Chicago | not stated | 1 |
| Level(3) Chicago (Kingsbury) | Operating | Owner not independently traced Listed as Lumen Technologies by DataCentersExposed. We have not verified that against a filing. | Chicago | not stated | 1 |
| Microsoft Corp-Chicago Data Center | Operating | Microsoft | 601 NORTHWEST AVENUE | not stated | 1, 4, 5 |
| Microsoft Elk Grove CH10 | Operating | Likely T5 Data Centers One circumstantial signal, not a document chain. | 200 INNOVATION DR | not stated | 1, 4, 5 |
| Microsoft Elk Grove CH11 | Operating | Owner not resolved | 201 INNOVATION DR | not stated | 4, 5, 6 |
| Netrality | Operating | Likely Netrality One circumstantial signal, not a document chain. | 717 South Wells Street | not stated | 1, 4, 5 |
| Netrix - Alsip | Operating | Owner not resolved | Alsip | not stated | 1 |
| Northwestern University co-location facility | Operating | Owner not resolved | Chicago | not stated | 1 |
| Prime Data Centers | Operating | Prime Data Centers | 1600 E HIGGINS RD | not stated | 4, 5, 6 |
| Quality Technology Services LLC | Operating | QTS | 2800 S ASHLAND AVE | not stated | 1, 4, 5 |
| Skybox Chicago | Operating | Owner not resolved | street precision | not stated | 6 |
| Skybox Chicago I | Operating | Likely Skybox One circumstantial signal, not a document chain. | 800 Devon Avenue | not stated | 1, 5 |
| STACK Chicago CHI01 | Operating | Likely STACK Infrastructure One circumstantial signal, not a document chain. | rooftop precision | not stated | 1, 5, 6 |
| Stream Data Centers | Operating | Likely Stream One circumstantial signal, not a document chain. | 2080 LUNT AVE | not stated | 1, 4, 5 |
| West Monroe | Operating | Owner not resolved | street precision | not stated | 1, 5 |
| HydraVault Data Center | Under construction | Owner not resolved | Chicago | not stated | 1 |
| ADP | Permitted | Owner not resolved | 100 NORTHWEST POINT BLVD | not stated | 4 |
| Aligned Data Center (egv) Propco LLC | Permitted | Aligned Data Centers | 50 NORTHWEST POINT BLVD | not stated | 4, 7 |
| Compass Datacenters ORD I LLC | Permitted | Compass Datacenters | 3333 BEVERLY RD | not stated | 4, 7 |
| Digital Grand Avenue 3 LLC | Permitted | Owner not resolved | 2550 MARTENS ST | not stated | 4 |
| Edgeconnex | Permitted | EdgeConneX | 901 BUSSE RD | not stated | 4 |
| Microsoft Hoffman Estates (CHI05) Data Center | Permitted | Microsoft | 2045 LAKEWOOD BLVD | not stated | 4, 6 |
| Motorola Solutions Inc | Permitted | Owner not resolved | 1301 E ALGONQUIN RD | not stated | 4 |
| Nalco Water | Permitted | Owner not independently traced Listed as Ascent, LLC by DataCentersExposed. We have not verified that against a filing. | 505 N RAILROAD AVE | not stated | 1, 4 |
| Stream Data Centers ORD | Permitted | Owner not resolved | 2000 LANDMEIER ROAD | not stated | 4, 7 |
| Tierpoint Chicago Data Center (Polk St.) | Permitted | Owner not independently traced Listed as TierPoint by Cleanview, DataCentersExposed. We have not verified that against a filing. | 601 W POLK ST | not stated | 1, 4, 6 |
| Aligned | Proposed | Owner not resolved | Elk Grove Village | not stated | 1 |
| Aligned ORD-03 Northwest Point - Building 1 | Proposed | Owner not resolved | street precision | not stated | 6 |
| Chicago (Hoffman Estates) | Proposed | Owner not resolved | street precision | not stated | 6 |
| Chicago III Data Center | Proposed | Owner not resolved | street precision | not stated | 6 |
| GI Partners Chicago Data Center | Proposed | Owner not resolved | street precision | not stated | 6 |
| Nexstar Elk Grove Data Center | Proposed | Owner not resolved | Elk Grove Village | not stated | 1, 6 |
| Oppidan: Carol Stream | Proposed | Owner not resolved | 330 KIMBERLY DR | not stated | 6, 8 |
| ORD Campus | Proposed | Owner not resolved | street precision | not stated | 6 |
| Scott Greenberg Chicago Data Center | Proposed | Owner not resolved | street precision | not stated | 6 |
| Stack CHI02 | Proposed | Owner not resolved | street precision | not stated | 6 |
| Stream Data Center | Proposed | Owner not resolved | Elk Grove Village | not stated | 1 |
| Stream Data Center: Chicago III-V Data Center | Proposed | Owner not resolved | street precision | not stated | 6 |
A campus shown as county only has a record that names Cook County but no address or coordinate we can stand behind, so it is deliberately not placed on a map or given a distance. It is still counted.
3. Who sells the power
From the utilities' own EIA-861 filings for 2024. A residential rate is not what a data center pays, and it is here as the one published number that lets you compare one utility to another.
| Utility | Ownership | Customers | Residential rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| Commonwealth Edison Co | Investor Owned | 3,727,675 | 13.39 cents/kWh |
4. How to read this
What an empty row means
A blank is written "not stated" throughout, and it means no record we hold states a value. It does not mean zero. A campus with no capacity shown may well have one; no filing we read published it.
What "on record to" means
A name appears without qualification only where a document chain gets from the site to the company: a permit, a filing, a registration. Where a commercial directory asserts an owner and nothing corroborates it, the row says so. Roughly two thirds of all owner information available for US data centers is of that second kind, and treating it as established is the single most common error in this subject.
What this is not
Not a register, not an official list, not a prediction. Data Centers Near Me is an independent compilation of records that are already public. Coverage is deeper in some states than others, and IL is described on the methodology page.
5. Sources
Every numbered source cited in section 2, in the order it first appears. Dates are the date the document itself carries where it has one, and the date we retrieved it where it does not.
- dce tracker export (© DataCentersExposed contributors, datacentersexposed.com, ODbL 1.0. Contains data © OpenStreetMap contributors.) · Tue, 08 Se
https://datacentersexposed.com/data/facilities.csv - Source cited by AI GridWatch for Karis Critical Plum Farms Data Center: https://news.wttw.com/2026/07/01/developer-withdraws-rezoning-request-controversial-data-center-hoffman-estates · Tue, 08 Se
https://news.wttw.com/2026/07/01/developer-withdraws-rezoning-request-controversial-data-center-hoffman-estates - agw_projects tracker export (AI GridWatch (aigridwatch.com), CC BY 4.0.) · Tue, 08 Se
https://aigridwatch.com/data/projects.csv - EPA ECHO Exporter, all facilities (weekly refresh) · Sun, 06 Se
https://echo.epa.gov/files/echodownloads/echo_exporter.zip - Overpass data_center query, tile conus-c2 bbox 24.0,-95.0,50.0,-85.0 · May 31, 2026
https://overpass.kumi.systems/api/interpreter - Cleanview state pages: facility markers (id, name, coordinates, status, MW, county) · Sep 8, 2026 (retrieved)
https://cleanview.co/data-centers/ - Census batch geocoder result, EPA area-precision batch 0 · Sep 8, 2026 (retrieved)
https://geocoding.geo.census.gov/geocoder/geographies/addressbatch - DuPage County IL assessment parcels (point queries) · Sep 9, 2026 (retrieved)
https://gis.dupageco.org/arcgis/rest/services/ParcelSearch/DuPageAssessmentParcelViewer_FPwithOwner/MapServer/2
Data Centers Near Me. Compiled Sep 17, 2026 from the records listed above. The live version of this county, with the map and every source document, is at https://datacentersnearme.org/counties/illinois/cook. Corrections are welcome and are published with the record they change.
Free to read, free to share, no account. If a fact here is wrong, the correction form on the site is the fastest way to get it fixed.