Data Centers Near Me
Data centers on record in Polk County, IA
Every campus this county has a public record for, with its status, who it is on record to, and the document each claim rests on. Compiled Sep 17, 2026.
On record
25
Operating
12
Withdrawn or rejected
0
This is a compilation of public records, not a register. A campus can exist without appearing in a filing we read, and a filing can be out of date. Everything here is traceable: the sources section at the back lists the document behind every claim, with the date it carried.
1. What is on record
25 data center campuses are on record in Polk County, 12 of them operating.
| Status | What it means | Campuses |
|---|---|---|
| Operating | Recorded as in service. | 12 |
| Under construction | Building work is recorded as under way. | 1 |
| Permitted | A permit or approval is on record. Construction may not have started. | 10 |
| Proposed | Someone has proposed it. Nothing has been approved and nothing is being built. | 2 |
Capacity
Megawatt figures come from two very different places and are never added together. No government record in this county states a capacity. A further 1,758 MW is claimed by commercial directories across 12 of 25, which we repeat with attribution and do not treat as measured.
2. Every campus in Polk County
| Campus | Status | On record to | Where | Capacity | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aureon | Operating | Owner not resolved | 616 10th Street | not stated | 1, 2 |
| Facebook Altoona Data Center 1 | Operating | Likely Meta One circumstantial signal, not a document chain. | rooftop precision | not stated | 1, 2, 3 |
| Facebook Altoona Data Center 4 | Operating | Likely Meta One circumstantial signal, not a document chain. | rooftop precision | not stated | 1, 2, 3 |
| Google Council Bluffs | Operating | Owner not independently traced Listed as Google by DataCentersExposed. We have not verified that against a filing. | street precision | not stated | 2 |
| IP Pathways DSM1 | Operating | Owner not resolved | Urbandale | not stated | 2 |
| Lightedge Des Moines 2 | Operating | Owner not resolved | 1401 Northridge Circle | not stated | 1, 2 |
| Meta Altoona | Operating | Owner not independently traced Listed as Meta by DataCentersExposed. We have not verified that against a filing. | Altoona | not stated | 2 |
| Meta data center, Altoona, IA | Operating | Meta | rooftop precision | not stated | 1, 2, 3 |
| Microsoft | Operating | Microsoft | 550 SE WHITE CRANE RD | not stated | 1, 2, 3 |
| Microsoft Ginger East - Building 1 | Operating | Owner not resolved | rooftop precision | not stated | 1, 3 |
| Microsoft West Des Moines | Operating | Owner not independently traced Listed as Microsoft by DataCentersExposed. We have not verified that against a filing. | West Des Moines | not stated | 2 |
| Unnamed data center (way/944024849) | Operating | Owner not resolved | rooftop precision | not stated | 1 |
| Edged DSM01-1 Data Center | Under construction | Owner not resolved | Ankeny | not stated | 2 |
| Cds Global Inc | Permitted | Owner not resolved | 1600 36TH ST | not stated | 5 |
| Clop Des Moines Ia, LLC | Permitted | Owner not resolved | 5900 THORNTON AVE | not stated | 5 |
| Cologix, Inc | Permitted | Cologix | 666 WALNUT STREET | not stated | 2, 3, 5 |
| Hewlett Packard Company | Permitted | Owner not resolved | 3600 ARMY POST ROAD ROAD | not stated | 5 |
| Iowa Health System | Permitted | Owner not resolved | 6200 THORTON AVE, STE 100 | not stated | 5 |
| Jordvert, LLC | Permitted | Owner not resolved | 6701 CORPORATE DR | not stated | 5 |
| Pioneer Hi-Bred International Inc - Emc Bldg/Reid Complex | Permitted | Owner not resolved | 7200 NORTHWEST 70TH AVENUE | not stated | 5 |
| Print Mail Systems Inc | Permitted | Owner not resolved | 4153 120TH ST | not stated | 5 |
| R & R Realty | Permitted | Owner not resolved | 4434 112TH ST | not stated | 5 |
| Siculus, Inc. | Permitted | Owner not resolved | 1500 34TH AVE | not stated | 5 |
| Cielo Des Moines Data Center | Proposed | Owner not resolved | street precision | not stated | 3 |
| Edged Des Moines | Proposed | Owner not resolved | street precision | not stated | 3 |
A campus shown as county only has a record that names Polk County but no address or coordinate we can stand behind, so it is deliberately not placed on a map or given a distance. It is still counted.
3. Who sells the power
From the utilities' own EIA-861 filings for 2024. A residential rate is not what a data center pays, and it is here as the one published number that lets you compare one utility to another.
| Utility | Ownership | Customers | Residential rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| MidAmerican Energy Co | Investor Owned | 710,254 | 10.90 cents/kWh |
| Interstate Power and Light Co | Investor Owned | 417,153 | 17.90 cents/kWh |
| Midland Power Coop | Cooperative | 11,939 | 13.60 cents/kWh |
| Consumers Energy Coop - (IA) | Cooperative | 6,922 | 15.00 cents/kWh |
4. How to read this
What an empty row means
A blank is written "not stated" throughout, and it means no record we hold states a value. It does not mean zero. A campus with no capacity shown may well have one; no filing we read published it.
What "on record to" means
A name appears without qualification only where a document chain gets from the site to the company: a permit, a filing, a registration. Where a commercial directory asserts an owner and nothing corroborates it, the row says so. Roughly two thirds of all owner information available for US data centers is of that second kind, and treating it as established is the single most common error in this subject.
What this is not
Not a register, not an official list, not a prediction. Data Centers Near Me is an independent compilation of records that are already public. Coverage is deeper in some states than others, and IA is described on the methodology page.
5. Sources
Every numbered source cited in section 2, in the order it first appears. Dates are the date the document itself carries where it has one, and the date we retrieved it where it does not.
- Overpass data_center query, tile conus-c2 bbox 24.0,-95.0,50.0,-85.0 · May 31, 2026
https://overpass.kumi.systems/api/interpreter - dce tracker export (© DataCentersExposed contributors, datacentersexposed.com, ODbL 1.0. Contains data © OpenStreetMap contributors.) · Tue, 08 Se
https://datacentersexposed.com/data/facilities.csv - Cleanview state pages: facility markers (id, name, coordinates, status, MW, county) · Sep 8, 2026 (retrieved)
https://cleanview.co/data-centers/ - Meta US data center locations page (first party, city-level) · Sep 9, 2026 (retrieved)
https://datacenters.atmeta.com/us-locations/ - EPA ECHO Exporter, all facilities (weekly refresh) · Sun, 06 Se
https://echo.epa.gov/files/echodownloads/echo_exporter.zip - Census batch geocoder result, EPA area-precision batch 0 · Sep 8, 2026 (retrieved)
https://geocoding.geo.census.gov/geocoder/geographies/addressbatch
Data Centers Near Me. Compiled Sep 17, 2026 from the records listed above. The live version of this county, with the map and every source document, is at https://datacentersnearme.org/counties/iowa/polk. Corrections are welcome and are published with the record they change.
Free to read, free to share, no account. If a fact here is wrong, the correction form on the site is the fastest way to get it fixed.