Durham County, NC data centers Data Centers Near Me. Generated Sep 17, 2026.

Data Centers Near Me

Data centers on record in Durham County, NC

Every campus this county has a public record for, with its status, who it is on record to, and the document each claim rests on. Compiled Sep 17, 2026.

On record

4

Operating

4

Withdrawn or rejected

0

This is a compilation of public records, not a register. A campus can exist without appearing in a filing we read, and a filing can be out of date. Everything here is traceable: the sources section at the back lists the document behind every claim, with the date it carried.

1. What is on record

4 data center campuses are on record in Durham County, all of them operating.

Status What it means Campuses
Operating Recorded as in service. 4

Capacity

Megawatt figures come from two very different places and are never added together. No government record in this county states a capacity. No directory claims a capacity here either.

2. Every campus in Durham County

Campus Status On record to Where Capacity Sources
Brandaleone Lab for Data and Visualization Operating Likely Duke Libraries
One circumstantial signal, not a document chain.
street precision not stated 1, 2
CyrusOne NC-1 Operating Owner not resolved 2223 NORTHEAST CREEK PKWY not stated 2, 3
Level 3 Communications Operating Owner not resolved 5400 South Miami Boulevard not stated 1, 2
vXchnge Raleigh-Durham (NC01) Operating Owner not resolved Durham not stated 2

A campus shown as county only has a record that names Durham County but no address or coordinate we can stand behind, so it is deliberately not placed on a map or given a distance. It is still counted.

3. Local rules on record

1 of these 2 records cite a government document with a date. The rest come from press reporting collected by a third party and are marked as reported, which means we have not read the ordinance ourselves.

Jurisdiction Recorded as Evidence Date
Durham County restriction Government document Aug 24, 2026
Durham County restriction Press report Jun 15, 2026

A reported restriction is a claim we are passing on with its source, not a finding. Check the jurisdiction's own minutes before relying on it.

4. Who sells the power

From the utilities' own EIA-861 filings for 2024. A residential rate is not what a data center pays, and it is here as the one published number that lets you compare one utility to another.

Utility Ownership Customers Residential rate
Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC Investor Owned 2,487,958 13.95 cents/kWh
Duke Energy Progress - (NC) Investor Owned 1,499,792 15.47 cents/kWh
Wake Electric Membership Corp Cooperative 53,268 13.42 cents/kWh
Piedmont Electric Member Corp Cooperative 30,334 15.60 cents/kWh

5. How to read this

What an empty row means

A blank is written "not stated" throughout, and it means no record we hold states a value. It does not mean zero. A campus with no capacity shown may well have one; no filing we read published it.

What "on record to" means

A name appears without qualification only where a document chain gets from the site to the company: a permit, a filing, a registration. Where a commercial directory asserts an owner and nothing corroborates it, the row says so. Roughly two thirds of all owner information available for US data centers is of that second kind, and treating it as established is the single most common error in this subject.

What this is not

Not a register, not an official list, not a prediction. Data Centers Near Me is an independent compilation of records that are already public. Coverage is deeper in some states than others, and NC is described on the methodology page.

6. Sources

Every numbered source cited in section 2, in the order it first appears. Dates are the date the document itself carries where it has one, and the date we retrieved it where it does not.

  1. Overpass data_center query, tile conus-e1 bbox 24.0,-85.0,50.0,-75.0 · Jul 28, 2026
    https://overpass.kumi.systems/api/interpreter
  2. dce tracker export (© DataCentersExposed contributors, datacentersexposed.com, ODbL 1.0. Contains data © OpenStreetMap contributors.) · Tue, 08 Se
    https://datacentersexposed.com/data/facilities.csv
  3. NC OneMap statewide parcels (point queries) · Sep 9, 2026 (retrieved)
    https://services.nconemap.gov/secure/rest/services/NC1Map_Parcels/MapServer/1

Data Centers Near Me. Compiled Sep 17, 2026 from the records listed above. The live version of this county, with the map and every source document, is at https://datacentersnearme.org/counties/north-carolina/durham. Corrections are welcome and are published with the record they change.

Free to read, free to share, no account. If a fact here is wrong, the correction form on the site is the fastest way to get it fixed.