Data Centers Near Me
Data centers on record in Wake County, NC
Every campus this county has a public record for, with its status, who it is on record to, and the document each claim rests on. Compiled Sep 17, 2026.
On record
8
Operating
7
Withdrawn or rejected
3
This is a compilation of public records, not a register. A campus can exist without appearing in a filing we read, and a filing can be out of date. Everything here is traceable: the sources section at the back lists the document behind every claim, with the date it carried.
1. What is on record
8 data center campuses are on record in Wake County, 7 of them operating. 3 more are recorded as withdrawn or rejected and are counted separately.
| Status | What it means | Campuses |
|---|---|---|
| Operating | Recorded as in service. | 7 |
| Permitted | A permit or approval is on record. Construction may not have started. | 1 |
| Withdrawn | The applicant withdrew it. | 2 |
| Rejected | A decision-maker refused it. | 1 |
Capacity
Megawatt figures come from two very different places and are never added together. No government record in this county states a capacity. A further 269 MW is claimed by commercial directories across 4 of 8, which we repeat with attribution and do not treat as measured.
2. Every campus in Wake County
| Campus | Status | On record to | Where | Capacity | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apple Reserch Triangle Park Data Center | Rejected | Owner not independently traced Listed as Apple by DataCentersExposed. We have not verified that against a filing. | Research Triangle Park | not stated | 1 |
| New Hill Digital Campus | Withdrawn | Owner not resolved | New Hill | not stated | 1 |
| Southeast Raleigh Data Center | Withdrawn | Owner not resolved | Raleigh | not stated | 2, 3 |
| BB&T Data Center | Operating | Owner not independently traced Listed as Prime Data Centers by DataCentersExposed. We have not verified that against a filing. | 49 GREEN PACE RD | not stated | 1, 4, 5 |
| Edge data center RA1 | Operating | Owner not independently traced Listed as American Tower Corporation by Cleanview, DataCentersExposed. We have not verified that against a filing. | 6011 CHAPEL HILL RD | not stated | 1, 5, 6 |
| Flexential Raleigh | Operating | Likely Flexential One circumstantial signal, not a document chain. | 5150 McCrimmon Parkway | not stated | 1, 4 |
| iGLASS Networks | Operating | Owner not resolved | 211 Commonwealth Court | not stated | 1, 4, 5 |
| Segra Data Center | Operating | Owner not independently traced Listed as Prime Data Centers by DataCentersExposed. We have not verified that against a filing. | 2100 Garner Station Boulevard | not stated | 1, 4, 5 |
| Tierpoint Raleigh - RTP Data Center | Operating | Owner not independently traced Listed as TierPoint by Cleanview, DataCentersExposed. We have not verified that against a filing. | Durham | not stated | 1, 6 |
| Tierpoint Raleigh Data Center | Operating | Owner not independently traced Listed as Lumen Technologies by Cleanview, DataCentersExposed. We have not verified that against a filing. | Raleigh | not stated | 1, 6 |
| Fidelity Real Estate Co.- Fidelity Morrisville Data Center | Permitted | Owner not resolved | 7133 LOUIS STEPHENS DRIVE | not stated | 7 |
A campus shown as county only has a record that names Wake County but no address or coordinate we can stand behind, so it is deliberately not placed on a map or given a distance. It is still counted.
3. Who sells the power
From the utilities' own EIA-861 filings for 2024. A residential rate is not what a data center pays, and it is here as the one published number that lets you compare one utility to another.
| Utility | Ownership | Customers | Residential rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC | Investor Owned | 2,487,958 | 13.95 cents/kWh |
| Duke Energy Progress - (NC) | Investor Owned | 1,499,792 | 15.47 cents/kWh |
| Wake Electric Membership Corp | Cooperative | 53,268 | 13.42 cents/kWh |
| Town of Apex- (NC) | Municipal | 29,289 | 10.52 cents/kWh |
| North Carolina Eastern M P A | Municipal Mktg Authority | not stated | not stated |
4. How to read this
What an empty row means
A blank is written "not stated" throughout, and it means no record we hold states a value. It does not mean zero. A campus with no capacity shown may well have one; no filing we read published it.
What "on record to" means
A name appears without qualification only where a document chain gets from the site to the company: a permit, a filing, a registration. Where a commercial directory asserts an owner and nothing corroborates it, the row says so. Roughly two thirds of all owner information available for US data centers is of that second kind, and treating it as established is the single most common error in this subject.
What this is not
Not a register, not an official list, not a prediction. Data Centers Near Me is an independent compilation of records that are already public. Coverage is deeper in some states than others, and NC is described on the methodology page.
5. Sources
Every numbered source cited in section 2, in the order it first appears. Dates are the date the document itself carries where it has one, and the date we retrieved it where it does not.
- dce tracker export (© DataCentersExposed contributors, datacentersexposed.com, ODbL 1.0. Contains data © OpenStreetMap contributors.) · Tue, 08 Se
https://datacentersexposed.com/data/facilities.csv - Source cited by AI GridWatch for Southeast Raleigh Data Center: https://www.wunc.org/term/news/2026-08-17/data-center-southeast-raleigh-opposition-city-council · Sep 8, 2026 (retrieved)
https://www.wunc.org/term/news/2026-08-17/data-center-southeast-raleigh-opposition-city-council - agw_projects tracker export (AI GridWatch (aigridwatch.com), CC BY 4.0.) · Tue, 08 Se
https://aigridwatch.com/data/projects.csv - Overpass data_center query, tile conus-e1 bbox 24.0,-85.0,50.0,-75.0 · Jul 28, 2026
https://overpass.kumi.systems/api/interpreter - NC OneMap statewide parcels (point queries) · Sep 9, 2026 (retrieved)
https://services.nconemap.gov/secure/rest/services/NC1Map_Parcels/MapServer/1 - Cleanview state pages: facility markers (id, name, coordinates, status, MW, county) · Sep 8, 2026 (retrieved)
https://cleanview.co/data-centers/ - EPA ECHO Exporter, all facilities (weekly refresh) · Sun, 06 Se
https://echo.epa.gov/files/echodownloads/echo_exporter.zip
Data Centers Near Me. Compiled Sep 17, 2026 from the records listed above. The live version of this county, with the map and every source document, is at https://datacentersnearme.org/counties/north-carolina/wake. Corrections are welcome and are published with the record they change.
Free to read, free to share, no account. If a fact here is wrong, the correction form on the site is the fastest way to get it fixed.