Data Centers Near Me
Data centers on record in Caroline County, VA
Every campus this county has a public record for, with its status, who it is on record to, and the document each claim rests on. Compiled Sep 17, 2026.
On record
13
Operating
0
Withdrawn or rejected
0
This is a compilation of public records, not a register. A campus can exist without appearing in a filing we read, and a filing can be out of date. Everything here is traceable: the sources section at the back lists the document behind every claim, with the date it carried.
1. What is on record
13 data center campuses are on record in Caroline County, none of them recorded as operating.
| Status | What it means | Campuses |
|---|---|---|
| Under construction | Building work is recorded as under way. | 1 |
| Proposed | Someone has proposed it. Nothing has been approved and nothing is being built. | 12 |
Capacity
Megawatt figures come from two very different places and are never added together. No government record in this county states a capacity. A further 370 MW is claimed by commercial directories across 2 of 13, which we repeat with attribution and do not treat as measured.
2. Every campus in Caroline County
| Campus | Status | On record to | Where | Capacity | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CleanArc Data Center (VA1) | Under construction | Owner not independently traced Listed as CleanArc by DataCentersExposed. We have not verified that against a filing. | Ruther Glen | not stated | 1 |
| ADP Ladysmith Data Hub | Proposed | Owner not resolved | Ruther Glen | not stated | 1 |
| Airlee Industrial and Data Center Site | Proposed | Owner not resolved | Ruther Glen | not stated | 1 |
| Amazon Mattameade Tech Campus - Building 1 | Proposed | Owner not resolved | street precision | not stated | 2 |
| Bull Church Data Center | Proposed | Owner not resolved | street precision | not stated | 1 |
| Carmel Church Data Hub | Proposed | Owner not independently traced Listed as W & F Partners by Cleanview, DataCentersExposed. We have not verified that against a filing. | Ruther Glen | not stated | 1, 2 |
| Carmel Technology & Enterprise Center | Proposed | Owner not resolved | Ruther Glen | not stated | 1 |
| Caroline Center for Innovation | Proposed | Owner not resolved | Ruther Glen | not stated | 1 |
| Caroline Center for Innovation North | Proposed | Owner not resolved | Ruther Glen | not stated | 1, 2 |
| Ladysmith Technology Park | Proposed | Owner not resolved | street precision | not stated | 1 |
| Thornberry Data Center Campus | Proposed | Owner not resolved | Ruther Glen | not stated | 1, 2 |
| Valco Data Center Park | Proposed | Owner not independently traced Listed as Valco Caroline County by Cleanview, DataCentersExposed. We have not verified that against a filing. | Ruther Glen | not stated | 1, 2 |
| VALCO Data Center Park | Proposed | Owner not resolved | Ruther Glen | not stated | 1 |
A campus shown as county only has a record that names Caroline County but no address or coordinate we can stand behind, so it is deliberately not placed on a map or given a distance. It is still counted.
3. Who sells the power
From the utilities' own EIA-861 filings for 2024. A residential rate is not what a data center pays, and it is here as the one published number that lets you compare one utility to another.
| Utility | Ownership | Customers | Residential rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| Virginia Electric & Power Co | Investor Owned | 2,492,204 | 14.09 cents/kWh |
| Rappahannock Electric Coop | Cooperative | 169,489 | 14.89 cents/kWh |
4. How to read this
What an empty row means
A blank is written "not stated" throughout, and it means no record we hold states a value. It does not mean zero. A campus with no capacity shown may well have one; no filing we read published it.
What "on record to" means
A name appears without qualification only where a document chain gets from the site to the company: a permit, a filing, a registration. Where a commercial directory asserts an owner and nothing corroborates it, the row says so. Roughly two thirds of all owner information available for US data centers is of that second kind, and treating it as established is the single most common error in this subject.
What this is not
Not a register, not an official list, not a prediction. Data Centers Near Me is an independent compilation of records that are already public. Coverage is deeper in some states than others, and VA is described on the methodology page.
5. Sources
Every numbered source cited in section 2, in the order it first appears. Dates are the date the document itself carries where it has one, and the date we retrieved it where it does not.
- dce tracker export (© DataCentersExposed contributors, datacentersexposed.com, ODbL 1.0. Contains data © OpenStreetMap contributors.) · Tue, 08 Se
https://datacentersexposed.com/data/facilities.csv - Cleanview state pages: facility markers (id, name, coordinates, status, MW, county) · Sep 8, 2026 (retrieved)
https://cleanview.co/data-centers/
Data Centers Near Me. Compiled Sep 17, 2026 from the records listed above. The live version of this county, with the map and every source document, is at https://datacentersnearme.org/counties/virginia/caroline. Corrections are welcome and are published with the record they change.
Free to read, free to share, no account. If a fact here is wrong, the correction form on the site is the fastest way to get it fixed.