Data Centers Near Me
Data centers on record in Johnson County, KS
Every campus this county has a public record for, with its status, who it is on record to, and the document each claim rests on. Compiled Sep 17, 2026.
On record
17
Operating
9
Withdrawn or rejected
3
This is a compilation of public records, not a register. A campus can exist without appearing in a filing we read, and a filing can be out of date. Everything here is traceable: the sources section at the back lists the document behind every claim, with the date it carried.
1. What is on record
17 data center campuses are on record in Johnson County, 9 of them operating. 3 more are recorded as withdrawn or rejected and are counted separately.
| Status | What it means | Campuses |
|---|---|---|
| Operating | Recorded as in service. | 9 |
| Permitted | A permit or approval is on record. Construction may not have started. | 4 |
| Proposed | Someone has proposed it. Nothing has been approved and nothing is being built. | 4 |
| Withdrawn | The applicant withdrew it. | 2 |
| Rejected | A decision-maker refused it. | 1 |
Capacity
Megawatt figures come from two very different places and are never added together. No government record in this county states a capacity. A further 628 MW is claimed by commercial directories across 4 of 17, which we repeat with attribution and do not treat as measured.
2. Every campus in Johnson County
| Campus | Status | On record to | Where | Capacity | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Beale Infrastructure Gardner Hyperscale Campus | Withdrawn | Owner not resolved | street precision | not stated | 1 |
| Colossus Data Center | Withdrawn | Owner not resolved | Spring Hill | not stated | 2 |
| Edgerton Data Center | Rejected | Owner not resolved | Edgerton | not stated | 2 |
| Clop Olathe - 10MW Data Center (air) | Operating | Owner not resolved | 23800 West Valley Parkway | not stated | 3, 4, 5 |
| DataBank Kansas City (MCI2) | Operating | Owner not resolved | Overland Park | not stated | 1, 2 |
| Databank Ltd MCI 3 (air) | Operating | DataBank | 15725 College Boulevard | not stated | 1, 2, 3 |
| Kansas City Data Center C | Operating | Owner not independently traced Listed as Prime Data Centers by DataCentersExposed. We have not verified that against a filing. | 24400 W VALLEY PARKWAY | not stated | 2, 3, 4 |
| LightEdge Kansas City Cavern (KCI2) | Operating | Owner not resolved | Lenexa | not stated | 2 |
| Netrality Kansas City Metro, KC2 | 7801 Nieman | Operating | Owner not resolved | Shawnee | not stated | 2 |
| QTS Overland Park (OVP1) | Operating | Owner not resolved | Overland Park | not stated | 2 |
| TierPoint data center | Operating | Likely TierPoint One circumstantial signal, not a document chain. | rooftop precision | not stated | 1, 2, 3 |
| U.S. Bank National Data Process Center | Operating | Owner not resolved | 24101 West Valley Parkway | not stated | 2, 3 |
| Digital de Soto | Permitted | Owner not resolved | DE SOTO | not stated | 2, 4 |
| Edgerton Project - South Phase | Permitted | Owner not resolved | 31800 W 196TH ST | not stated | 2, 4 |
| Netrality Data Centers - KC2 (air) | Permitted | Owner not resolved | 7801 NIEMAN ROAD | not stated | 4 |
| Pilot | Permitted | Owner not resolved | 38000 WEST 103RD STREET | not stated | 2, 4 |
| Astra data center campus (Digital Realty) | Proposed | Likely Digital Realty A tracker names this operator and cites a source we have not read ourselves, so it is not traced to a record. | De Soto (Johnson County) | not stated | 6, 7 |
| Beale Project Pilot Data Center | Proposed | Owner not independently traced Listed as Beale Infrastructure by Cleanview, DataCentersExposed. We have not verified that against a filing. | DeSoto | not stated | 1, 2 |
| Mount Sunflower Properties LLC Data Center | Proposed | Owner not resolved | DeSoto | not stated | 2 |
| QTS New Century | Proposed | Owner not resolved | street precision | not stated | 1 |
A campus shown as county only has a record that names Johnson County but no address or coordinate we can stand behind, so it is deliberately not placed on a map or given a distance. It is still counted.
3. Who sells the power
From the utilities' own EIA-861 filings for 2024. A residential rate is not what a data center pays, and it is here as the one published number that lets you compare one utility to another.
| Utility | Ownership | Customers | Residential rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| Evergy Metro | Investor Owned | 518,415 | 13.41 cents/kWh |
| Evergy Kansas Central, Inc | Investor Owned | 341,806 | 14.29 cents/kWh |
4. How to read this
What an empty row means
A blank is written "not stated" throughout, and it means no record we hold states a value. It does not mean zero. A campus with no capacity shown may well have one; no filing we read published it.
What "on record to" means
A name appears without qualification only where a document chain gets from the site to the company: a permit, a filing, a registration. Where a commercial directory asserts an owner and nothing corroborates it, the row says so. Roughly two thirds of all owner information available for US data centers is of that second kind, and treating it as established is the single most common error in this subject.
What this is not
Not a register, not an official list, not a prediction. Data Centers Near Me is an independent compilation of records that are already public. Coverage is deeper in some states than others, and KS is described on the methodology page.
5. Sources
Every numbered source cited in section 2, in the order it first appears. Dates are the date the document itself carries where it has one, and the date we retrieved it where it does not.
- Cleanview state pages: facility markers (id, name, coordinates, status, MW, county) · Sep 8, 2026 (retrieved)
https://cleanview.co/data-centers/ - dce tracker export (© DataCentersExposed contributors, datacentersexposed.com, ODbL 1.0. Contains data © OpenStreetMap contributors.) · Tue, 08 Se
https://datacentersexposed.com/data/facilities.csv - Overpass data_center query, tile conus-c2 bbox 24.0,-95.0,50.0,-85.0 · May 31, 2026
https://overpass.kumi.systems/api/interpreter - EPA ECHO Exporter, all facilities (weekly refresh) · Sun, 06 Se
https://echo.epa.gov/files/echodownloads/echo_exporter.zip - Census batch geocoder result, EPA area-precision batch 0 · Sep 8, 2026 (retrieved)
https://geocoding.geo.census.gov/geocoder/geographies/addressbatch - Source cited by AI GridWatch for Astra data center campus (Digital Realty): https://www2.ljworld.com/news/general-news/2026/jun/10/a-second-major-data-center-project-has-been-proposed-in-de-soto-n · Sep 8, 2026 (retrieved)
https://www2.ljworld.com/news/general-news/2026/jun/10/a-second-major-data-center-project-has-been-proposed-in-de-soto-near-panasonic-battery-plant/ - agw_projects tracker export (AI GridWatch (aigridwatch.com), CC BY 4.0.) · Tue, 08 Se
https://aigridwatch.com/data/projects.csv
Data Centers Near Me. Compiled Sep 17, 2026 from the records listed above. The live version of this county, with the map and every source document, is at https://datacentersnearme.org/counties/kansas/johnson. Corrections are welcome and are published with the record they change.
Free to read, free to share, no account. If a fact here is wrong, the correction form on the site is the fastest way to get it fixed.