Data Centers Near Me
Data centers on record in Middlesex County, NJ
Every campus this county has a public record for, with its status, who it is on record to, and the document each claim rests on. Compiled Sep 17, 2026.
On record
12
Operating
10
Withdrawn or rejected
2
This is a compilation of public records, not a register. A campus can exist without appearing in a filing we read, and a filing can be out of date. Everything here is traceable: the sources section at the back lists the document behind every claim, with the date it carried.
1. What is on record
12 data center campuses are on record in Middlesex County, 10 of them operating. 2 more are recorded as withdrawn or rejected and are counted separately.
| Status | What it means | Campuses |
|---|---|---|
| Operating | Recorded as in service. | 10 |
| Permitted | A permit or approval is on record. Construction may not have started. | 1 |
| Proposed | Someone has proposed it. Nothing has been approved and nothing is being built. | 1 |
| Withdrawn | The applicant withdrew it. | 1 |
| Rejected | A decision-maker refused it. | 1 |
Capacity
Megawatt figures come from two very different places and are never added together. No government record in this county states a capacity. A further 162 MW is claimed by commercial directories across 4 of 12, which we repeat with attribution and do not treat as measured.
2. Every campus in Middlesex County
| Campus | Status | On record to | Where | Capacity | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 100 Jersey Avenue AI Data Center | Rejected | Owner not resolved | New Brunswick | not stated | 1, 2 |
| New Brunswick Data Center | Withdrawn | Owner not resolved | New Brunswick | not stated | 3 |
| Barclays Datacenter | Operating | Likely Barclays One circumstantial signal, not a document chain. | rooftop precision | not stated | 3, 4 |
| DataBank Piscataway EWR2 | Operating | Owner not independently traced Listed as DataBank by DataCentersExposed. We have not verified that against a filing. | 25 CORPORATE PL S | not stated | 3, 4, 5 |
| Digital Realty New York EWR11 | Operating | Likely Digital Realty One circumstantial signal, not a document chain. | 40 CORPORATE PLACE | not stated | 3, 4, 5 |
| Equinix | Operating | Likely Equinix One circumstantial signal, not a document chain. | 275 CENTENNIAL AVE | not stated | 3, 4, 5 |
| Evoque Data Center Solutions - PNJ1 | Operating | CenterSquare | 3 CORPORATE PL | not stated | 4, 5, 6 |
| Iron Mountain NJE-1 | Operating | Owner not independently traced Listed as Compass Datacenters by Cleanview, DataCentersExposed. We have not verified that against a filing. | 3003 Woodbridge Avenue | not stated | 3, 4, 7 |
| Optimum | Operating | Owner not resolved | rooftop precision | not stated | 3, 4 |
| QTS Data Centers | Operating | QTS | 101 POSSUMTOWN ROAD | not stated | 3, 4, 6 |
| Unnamed data center (way/729376485) | Operating | Owner not resolved | 1400 Federal Boulevard | not stated | 4, 5 |
| Verizon Wireline Network Building | Operating | Owner not independently traced Listed as Verizon by DataCentersExposed. We have not verified that against a filing. | street precision | not stated | 3 |
| Bloomberg Piscataway Data Ctr | Permitted | Owner not resolved | 1115 CENTENNIAL AVE | not stated | 6, 8 |
| Princeton Nurseries | Proposed | Owner not resolved | street precision | not stated | 7 |
A campus shown as county only has a record that names Middlesex County but no address or coordinate we can stand behind, so it is deliberately not placed on a map or given a distance. It is still counted.
3. Who sells the power
From the utilities' own EIA-861 filings for 2024. A residential rate is not what a data center pays, and it is here as the one published number that lets you compare one utility to another.
| Utility | Ownership | Customers | Residential rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| Public Service Elec & Gas Co | Investor Owned | 2,056,231 | 19.81 cents/kWh |
| Jersey Central Power & Lt Co | Investor Owned | 1,038,258 | 14.97 cents/kWh |
4. How to read this
What an empty row means
A blank is written "not stated" throughout, and it means no record we hold states a value. It does not mean zero. A campus with no capacity shown may well have one; no filing we read published it.
What "on record to" means
A name appears without qualification only where a document chain gets from the site to the company: a permit, a filing, a registration. Where a commercial directory asserts an owner and nothing corroborates it, the row says so. Roughly two thirds of all owner information available for US data centers is of that second kind, and treating it as established is the single most common error in this subject.
What this is not
Not a register, not an official list, not a prediction. Data Centers Near Me is an independent compilation of records that are already public. Coverage is deeper in some states than others, and NJ is described on the methodology page.
5. Sources
Every numbered source cited in section 2, in the order it first appears. Dates are the date the document itself carries where it has one, and the date we retrieved it where it does not.
- Source cited by AI GridWatch for 100 Jersey Avenue AI Data Center: https://patch.com/new-jersey/newbrunswick/new-brunswick-city-council-kills-proposal-build-ai-data-center-100-jersey · Sep 8, 2026 (retrieved)
https://patch.com/new-jersey/newbrunswick/new-brunswick-city-council-kills-proposal-build-ai-data-center-100-jersey - agw_projects tracker export (AI GridWatch (aigridwatch.com), CC BY 4.0.) · Tue, 08 Se
https://aigridwatch.com/data/projects.csv - dce tracker export (© DataCentersExposed contributors, datacentersexposed.com, ODbL 1.0. Contains data © OpenStreetMap contributors.) · Tue, 08 Se
https://datacentersexposed.com/data/facilities.csv - Overpass data_center query, tile conus-e2 bbox 24.0,-75.0,50.0,-66.0 · Sep 8, 2026
https://overpass.kumi.systems/api/interpreter - New Jersey statewide parcels MOD-IV composite (NJOGIS) (point queries) · Sep 9, 2026 (retrieved)
https://maps.nj.gov/arcgis/rest/services/Framework/Cadastral/MapServer/0 - EPA ECHO Exporter, all facilities (weekly refresh) · Sun, 06 Se
https://echo.epa.gov/files/echodownloads/echo_exporter.zip - Cleanview state pages: facility markers (id, name, coordinates, status, MW, county) · Sep 8, 2026 (retrieved)
https://cleanview.co/data-centers/ - Census batch geocoder result, EPA area-precision batch 0 · Sep 8, 2026 (retrieved)
https://geocoding.geo.census.gov/geocoder/geographies/addressbatch
Data Centers Near Me. Compiled Sep 17, 2026 from the records listed above. The live version of this county, with the map and every source document, is at https://datacentersnearme.org/counties/new-jersey/middlesex. Corrections are welcome and are published with the record they change.
Free to read, free to share, no account. If a fact here is wrong, the correction form on the site is the fastest way to get it fixed.