Catawba County, NC data centers Data Centers Near Me. Generated Sep 17, 2026.

Data Centers Near Me

Data centers on record in Catawba County, NC

Every campus this county has a public record for, with its status, who it is on record to, and the document each claim rests on. Compiled Sep 17, 2026.

On record

9

Operating

3

Withdrawn or rejected

0

This is a compilation of public records, not a register. A campus can exist without appearing in a filing we read, and a filing can be out of date. Everything here is traceable: the sources section at the back lists the document behind every claim, with the date it carried.

1. What is on record

9 data center campuses are on record in Catawba County, 3 of them operating.

Status What it means Campuses
Operating Recorded as in service. 3
Permitted A permit or approval is on record. Construction may not have started. 3
Proposed Someone has proposed it. Nothing has been approved and nothing is being built. 3

Capacity

Megawatt figures come from two very different places and are never added together. No government record in this county states a capacity. A further 1,011 MW is claimed by commercial directories across 5 of 9, which we repeat with attribution and do not treat as measured.

2. Every campus in Catawba County

Campus Status On record to Where Capacity Sources
Apple Inc Operating Apple 5977 STARTOWN RD not stated 1, 2, 3
Apple Maiden Operating Owner not independently traced
Listed as Apple by DataCentersExposed. We have not verified that against a filing.
Maiden not stated 4
Google Lenoir Operating Owner not independently traced
Listed as Google by DataCentersExposed. We have not verified that against a filing.
Lenoir not stated 4
CLT17 Stover Data Center Permitted Owner not resolved 3820 HICKORY LINCOLNTON HWY not stated 1, 5
Microsoft Corporation, CLT04 and CLT05 Permitted Microsoft 1723 N. NC HWY 16 not stated 1, 3, 4
Microsoft Corporation, CLT10 Permitted Microsoft 1400 ZEB HAYNES ROAD not stated 1, 3, 4
Microsoft CLT17 Proposed Microsoft 1881 STOVER CT not stated 3, 5
Microsoft Pine - Building 1 Proposed Microsoft 3020 TATE BLVD SE not stated 3, 4, 5
Newton Data Center Proposed Owner not independently traced
Listed as Microsoft by DataCentersExposed. We have not verified that against a filing.
Newton not stated 4

A campus shown as county only has a record that names Catawba County but no address or coordinate we can stand behind, so it is deliberately not placed on a map or given a distance. It is still counted.

3. Who sells the power

From the utilities' own EIA-861 filings for 2024. A residential rate is not what a data center pays, and it is here as the one published number that lets you compare one utility to another.

Utility Ownership Customers Residential rate
Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC Investor Owned 2,487,958 13.95 cents/kWh
EnergyUnited Elec Member Corp Cooperative 121,995 11.54 cents/kWh
Rutherford Elec Member Corp Cooperative 70,743 13.13 cents/kWh

4. How to read this

What an empty row means

A blank is written "not stated" throughout, and it means no record we hold states a value. It does not mean zero. A campus with no capacity shown may well have one; no filing we read published it.

What "on record to" means

A name appears without qualification only where a document chain gets from the site to the company: a permit, a filing, a registration. Where a commercial directory asserts an owner and nothing corroborates it, the row says so. Roughly two thirds of all owner information available for US data centers is of that second kind, and treating it as established is the single most common error in this subject.

What this is not

Not a register, not an official list, not a prediction. Data Centers Near Me is an independent compilation of records that are already public. Coverage is deeper in some states than others, and NC is described on the methodology page.

5. Sources

Every numbered source cited in section 2, in the order it first appears. Dates are the date the document itself carries where it has one, and the date we retrieved it where it does not.

  1. EPA ECHO Exporter, all facilities (weekly refresh) · Sun, 06 Se
    https://echo.epa.gov/files/echodownloads/echo_exporter.zip
  2. Overpass data_center query, tile conus-e1 bbox 24.0,-85.0,50.0,-75.0 · Jul 28, 2026
    https://overpass.kumi.systems/api/interpreter
  3. Cleanview state pages: facility markers (id, name, coordinates, status, MW, county) · Sep 8, 2026 (retrieved)
    https://cleanview.co/data-centers/
  4. dce tracker export (© DataCentersExposed contributors, datacentersexposed.com, ODbL 1.0. Contains data © OpenStreetMap contributors.) · Tue, 08 Se
    https://datacentersexposed.com/data/facilities.csv
  5. NC OneMap statewide parcels (point queries) · Sep 9, 2026 (retrieved)
    https://services.nconemap.gov/secure/rest/services/NC1Map_Parcels/MapServer/1
  6. Census batch geocoder result, EPA area-precision batch 0 · Sep 8, 2026 (retrieved)
    https://geocoding.geo.census.gov/geocoder/geographies/addressbatch

Data Centers Near Me. Compiled Sep 17, 2026 from the records listed above. The live version of this county, with the map and every source document, is at https://datacentersnearme.org/counties/north-carolina/catawba. Corrections are welcome and are published with the record they change.

Free to read, free to share, no account. If a fact here is wrong, the correction form on the site is the fastest way to get it fixed.