Data Centers Near Me
Data centers on record in Mecklenburg County, NC
Every campus this county has a public record for, with its status, who it is on record to, and the document each claim rests on. Compiled Sep 17, 2026.
On record
12
Operating
9
Withdrawn or rejected
1
This is a compilation of public records, not a register. A campus can exist without appearing in a filing we read, and a filing can be out of date. Everything here is traceable: the sources section at the back lists the document behind every claim, with the date it carried.
1. What is on record
12 data center campuses are on record in Mecklenburg County, 9 of them operating. 1 more is recorded as withdrawn or rejected and is counted separately.
| Status | What it means | Campuses |
|---|---|---|
| Operating | Recorded as in service. | 9 |
| Proposed | Someone has proposed it. Nothing has been approved and nothing is being built. | 3 |
| Withdrawn | The applicant withdrew it. | 1 |
Capacity
Megawatt figures come from two very different places and are never added together. No government record in this county states a capacity. A further 487 MW is claimed by commercial directories across 5 of 12, which we repeat with attribution and do not treat as measured.
2. Every campus in Mecklenburg County
| Campus | Status | On record to | Where | Capacity | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Project Accelerate | Withdrawn | Owner not resolved | Matthews | not stated | 1 |
| Carolina Internet / CaroNet XB | Operating | Owner not resolved | Charlotte | not stated | 1 |
| CENTRA CLT01 - Charlotte NC (701 E Trade) | Operating | Digital Realty | 731 E TRADE ST CHARLOTTE NC | not stated | 1, 2 |
| CLT2 | Operating | Owner not resolved | Charlotte | not stated | 1 |
| Flexential Charlotte - North | Operating | H5 Data Centers | 10105 David Taylor Drive | not stated | 1, 2, 3 |
| Flexential Charlotte - South | Operating | Likely Flexential One circumstantial signal, not a document chain. | 8910 Lenox Pointe Drive | not stated | 1, 2, 3 |
| Segra | Operating | Owner not resolved | 1612 Cross Beam Drive | not stated | 1, 3 |
| Spectrum Charlotte National Data Center | Operating | Owner not resolved | 8730 Green Ridge Drive | not stated | 1, 2, 3 |
| TierPoint - Charlotte Data Center | Operating | Likely TierPoint One circumstantial signal, not a document chain. | 1805 CENTER PARK DR CHARLOTTE NC | not stated | 1, 2, 3 |
| Tierpoint Charlotte - North Myers Data Center | Operating | Owner not independently traced Listed as Digital Realty by Cleanview, DataCentersExposed. We have not verified that against a filing. | Charlotte | not stated | 1, 4 |
| American Tower East Charlotte | Proposed | Owner not resolved | street precision | not stated | 4 |
| Digital Realty Charlotte Campus | Proposed | Owner not resolved | Charlotte | not stated | 1, 4 |
| PowerHouse Charlotte - Building 1 | Proposed | Owner not resolved | street precision | not stated | 4 |
A campus shown as county only has a record that names Mecklenburg County but no address or coordinate we can stand behind, so it is deliberately not placed on a map or given a distance. It is still counted.
3. Who sells the power
From the utilities' own EIA-861 filings for 2024. A residential rate is not what a data center pays, and it is here as the one published number that lets you compare one utility to another.
| Utility | Ownership | Customers | Residential rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC | Investor Owned | 2,487,958 | 13.95 cents/kWh |
| EnergyUnited Elec Member Corp | Cooperative | 121,995 | 11.54 cents/kWh |
| Union Electric Membership Corp - (NC) | Cooperative | 84,602 | 13.37 cents/kWh |
| York Electric Coop Inc | Cooperative | 65,259 | 12.65 cents/kWh |
| Town of Huntersville - (NC) | Municipal | 8,080 | 12.12 cents/kWh |
4. How to read this
What an empty row means
A blank is written "not stated" throughout, and it means no record we hold states a value. It does not mean zero. A campus with no capacity shown may well have one; no filing we read published it.
What "on record to" means
A name appears without qualification only where a document chain gets from the site to the company: a permit, a filing, a registration. Where a commercial directory asserts an owner and nothing corroborates it, the row says so. Roughly two thirds of all owner information available for US data centers is of that second kind, and treating it as established is the single most common error in this subject.
What this is not
Not a register, not an official list, not a prediction. Data Centers Near Me is an independent compilation of records that are already public. Coverage is deeper in some states than others, and NC is described on the methodology page.
5. Sources
Every numbered source cited in section 2, in the order it first appears. Dates are the date the document itself carries where it has one, and the date we retrieved it where it does not.
- dce tracker export (© DataCentersExposed contributors, datacentersexposed.com, ODbL 1.0. Contains data © OpenStreetMap contributors.) · Tue, 08 Se
https://datacentersexposed.com/data/facilities.csv - NC OneMap statewide parcels (point queries) · Sep 9, 2026 (retrieved)
https://services.nconemap.gov/secure/rest/services/NC1Map_Parcels/MapServer/1 - Overpass data_center query, tile conus-e1 bbox 24.0,-85.0,50.0,-75.0 · Jul 28, 2026
https://overpass.kumi.systems/api/interpreter - Cleanview state pages: facility markers (id, name, coordinates, status, MW, county) · Sep 8, 2026 (retrieved)
https://cleanview.co/data-centers/
Data Centers Near Me. Compiled Sep 17, 2026 from the records listed above. The live version of this county, with the map and every source document, is at https://datacentersnearme.org/counties/north-carolina/mecklenburg. Corrections are welcome and are published with the record they change.
Free to read, free to share, no account. If a fact here is wrong, the correction form on the site is the fastest way to get it fixed.