Shelby County, TN data centers Data Centers Near Me. Generated Sep 17, 2026.

Data Centers Near Me

Data centers on record in Shelby County, TN

Every campus this county has a public record for, with its status, who it is on record to, and the document each claim rests on. Compiled Sep 17, 2026.

On record

13

Operating

8

Withdrawn or rejected

0

This is a compilation of public records, not a register. A campus can exist without appearing in a filing we read, and a filing can be out of date. Everything here is traceable: the sources section at the back lists the document behind every claim, with the date it carried.

1. What is on record

13 data center campuses are on record in Shelby County, 8 of them operating.

Status What it means Campuses
Operating Recorded as in service. 8
Permitted A permit or approval is on record. Construction may not have started. 3
Proposed Someone has proposed it. Nothing has been approved and nothing is being built. 2

Capacity

Megawatt figures come from two very different places and are never added together. No government record in this county states a capacity. A further 5,813 MW is claimed by commercial directories across 8 of 13, which we repeat with attribution and do not treat as measured.

2. Every campus in Shelby County

Campus Status On record to Where Capacity Sources
Colossus 2 Operating Owner not resolved street precision not stated 1
Colossus 2 Operating Owner not resolved MEMPHIS not stated 2
DataBank Memphis (MEM1) Operating Owner not resolved Memphis not stated 1, 2
EdgeConneX MEM01 Operating Owner not resolved Memphis not stated 1, 2
Expedient Memphis Operating Owner not independently traced
Listed as Expedient, LLC by DataCentersExposed. We have not verified that against a filing.
Memphis not stated 2
Level(3) Memphis Operating Owner not independently traced
Listed as Lumen Technologies by DataCentersExposed. We have not verified that against a filing.
Memphis not stated 2
xAI Colossus Operating Likely x-corp
One circumstantial signal, not a document chain.
3231 Paul R Lowery Road not stated 1, 2, 3
xAI Macrohard Colossus 2 Operating Likely x-corp
One circumstantial signal, not a document chain.
5420 Tulane Road not stated 3
5C MEM01 Inc Permitted Owner not resolved 4300 GETWELL RD not stated 4
Colossus Data Center Permitted Owner not resolved 3231 PAUL R LOWERY not stated 4
xAI Colossus Permitted Likely x-corp
A tracker names this operator and cites a source we have not read ourselves, so it is not traced to a record.
Memphis (Shelby County) not stated 5, 6
Colossus 1 Proposed Owner not resolved Memphis not stated 6, 7
Colossus 2 Proposed Owner not resolved Memphis not stated 6

A campus shown as county only has a record that names Shelby County but no address or coordinate we can stand behind, so it is deliberately not placed on a map or given a distance. It is still counted.

3. Who sells the power

From the utilities' own EIA-861 filings for 2024. A residential rate is not what a data center pays, and it is here as the one published number that lets you compare one utility to another.

Utility Ownership Customers Residential rate
City of Memphis - (TN) Municipal 380,286 12.16 cents/kWh

4. How to read this

What an empty row means

A blank is written "not stated" throughout, and it means no record we hold states a value. It does not mean zero. A campus with no capacity shown may well have one; no filing we read published it.

What "on record to" means

A name appears without qualification only where a document chain gets from the site to the company: a permit, a filing, a registration. Where a commercial directory asserts an owner and nothing corroborates it, the row says so. Roughly two thirds of all owner information available for US data centers is of that second kind, and treating it as established is the single most common error in this subject.

What this is not

Not a register, not an official list, not a prediction. Data Centers Near Me is an independent compilation of records that are already public. Coverage is deeper in some states than others, and TN is described on the methodology page.

5. Sources

Every numbered source cited in section 2, in the order it first appears. Dates are the date the document itself carries where it has one, and the date we retrieved it where it does not.

  1. Cleanview state pages: facility markers (id, name, coordinates, status, MW, county) · Sep 8, 2026 (retrieved)
    https://cleanview.co/data-centers/
  2. dce tracker export (© DataCentersExposed contributors, datacentersexposed.com, ODbL 1.0. Contains data © OpenStreetMap contributors.) · Tue, 08 Se
    https://datacentersexposed.com/data/facilities.csv
  3. Overpass data_center query, tile conus-c2 bbox 24.0,-95.0,50.0,-85.0 · May 31, 2026
    https://overpass.kumi.systems/api/interpreter
  4. EPA ECHO Exporter, all facilities (weekly refresh) · Sun, 06 Se
    https://echo.epa.gov/files/echodownloads/echo_exporter.zip
  5. Source cited by AI GridWatch for xAI Colossus: https://earthjustice.org/case/xai-illegal-gas-power-plant-data-center-colossus · Sep 8, 2026 (retrieved)
    https://earthjustice.org/case/xai-illegal-gas-power-plant-data-center-colossus
  6. agw_projects tracker export (AI GridWatch (aigridwatch.com), CC BY 4.0.) · Tue, 08 Se
    https://aigridwatch.com/data/projects.csv
  7. Source cited by AI GridWatch for Colossus 1: https://drive.google.com/file/d/17WAFThn95X85ebzA_e19R1zYycwFzAl2/view?usp=sharing · Sep 8, 2026 (retrieved)
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/17WAFThn95X85ebzA_e19R1zYycwFzAl2/view?usp=sharing

Data Centers Near Me. Compiled Sep 17, 2026 from the records listed above. The live version of this county, with the map and every source document, is at https://datacentersnearme.org/counties/tennessee/shelby. Corrections are welcome and are published with the record they change.

Free to read, free to share, no account. If a fact here is wrong, the correction form on the site is the fastest way to get it fixed.