Data Centers Near Me
Data centers on record in Chesterfield County, VA
Every campus this county has a public record for, with its status, who it is on record to, and the document each claim rests on. Compiled Sep 17, 2026.
On record
16
Operating
3
Withdrawn or rejected
1
This is a compilation of public records, not a register. A campus can exist without appearing in a filing we read, and a filing can be out of date. Everything here is traceable: the sources section at the back lists the document behind every claim, with the date it carried.
1. What is on record
16 data center campuses are on record in Chesterfield County, 3 of them operating. 1 more is recorded as withdrawn or rejected and is counted separately.
| Status | What it means | Campuses |
|---|---|---|
| Operating | Recorded as in service. | 3 |
| Under construction | Building work is recorded as under way. | 1 |
| Permitted | A permit or approval is on record. Construction may not have started. | 1 |
| Proposed | Someone has proposed it. Nothing has been approved and nothing is being built. | 11 |
| Rejected | A decision-maker refused it. | 1 |
Capacity
Megawatt figures come from two very different places and are never added together. No government record in this county states a capacity. A further 1,030 MW is claimed by commercial directories across 7 of 16, which we repeat with attribution and do not treat as measured.
2. Every campus in Chesterfield County
| Campus | Status | On record to | Where | Capacity | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tract Data Center | Rejected | Owner not resolved | Chester | not stated | 1 |
| PowerHouse CTP-02 | Operating | Likely PowerHouse One circumstantial signal, not a document chain. | 1401 Meadowville Technology Parkway | not stated | 1, 2, 3 |
| PowerHouse data center | Operating | Likely PowerHouse One circumstantial signal, not a document chain. | parcel precision | not stated | 1, 2, 3 |
| Virginia Information Technologies Agency | Operating | Owner not resolved | 11751 MEADOWVILLE LN | not stated | 1, 2, 3 |
| Digital Drive Hyperscale (Chesterfield) | Under construction | Owner not independently traced Listed as PowerHouse Data Centers by DataCentersExposed. We have not verified that against a filing. | Chester | not stated | 1 |
| Chirisa Richmond LLC | Permitted | Owner not resolved | 1401 MEADOWVILLE TECHNOLOGY PK | not stated | 5 |
| Chesterfield Google Data Center | Proposed | Owner not independently traced Listed as Google by DataCentersExposed. We have not verified that against a filing. | Chester | not stated | 1 |
| Chirisa Technology Parks: CTP-03 | Proposed | Owner not resolved | street precision | not stated | 3 |
| CoreWeave Chester VA | Proposed | Likely CoreWeave A tracker names this operator and cites a source we have not read ourselves, so it is not traced to a record. | Chester (Chesterfield County) | not stated | 6, 7 |
| Google data center, Chesterfield County, Virginia | Proposed | street precision | not stated | 8 | |
| Project Loch (Google) | Proposed | Owner not independently traced Listed as Google by Cleanview, DataCentersExposed. We have not verified that against a filing. | Midloththian | not stated | 1, 3 |
| Project Peanut | Proposed | Owner not resolved | Chester | not stated | 1, 3 |
| Project Skye (Google) | Proposed | Owner not independently traced Listed as Google by Cleanview, DataCentersExposed. We have not verified that against a filing. | Moseley | not stated | 1, 3 |
| Richmond Campus (Menlo Digital) | Proposed | Owner not resolved | street precision | not stated | 3 |
| Upper Magnolia Green East | Proposed | Owner not resolved | Moseley | not stated | 1, 3 |
| Upper Magnolia Green West Tract A and Tract B | Proposed | Owner not resolved | Moseley | not stated | 1, 3 |
| Watkins Centre South | Proposed | Owner not resolved | Midlothian | not stated | 1, 3 |
A campus shown as county only has a record that names Chesterfield County but no address or coordinate we can stand behind, so it is deliberately not placed on a map or given a distance. It is still counted.
3. Who sells the power
From the utilities' own EIA-861 filings for 2024. A residential rate is not what a data center pays, and it is here as the one published number that lets you compare one utility to another.
| Utility | Ownership | Customers | Residential rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| Virginia Electric & Power Co | Investor Owned | 2,492,204 | 14.09 cents/kWh |
| Southside Electric Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 56,846 | 15.48 cents/kWh |
4. How to read this
What an empty row means
A blank is written "not stated" throughout, and it means no record we hold states a value. It does not mean zero. A campus with no capacity shown may well have one; no filing we read published it.
What "on record to" means
A name appears without qualification only where a document chain gets from the site to the company: a permit, a filing, a registration. Where a commercial directory asserts an owner and nothing corroborates it, the row says so. Roughly two thirds of all owner information available for US data centers is of that second kind, and treating it as established is the single most common error in this subject.
What this is not
Not a register, not an official list, not a prediction. Data Centers Near Me is an independent compilation of records that are already public. Coverage is deeper in some states than others, and VA is described on the methodology page.
5. Sources
Every numbered source cited in section 2, in the order it first appears. Dates are the date the document itself carries where it has one, and the date we retrieved it where it does not.
- dce tracker export (© DataCentersExposed contributors, datacentersexposed.com, ODbL 1.0. Contains data © OpenStreetMap contributors.) · Tue, 08 Se
https://datacentersexposed.com/data/facilities.csv - Overpass data_center query, tile conus-e1 bbox 24.0,-85.0,50.0,-75.0 · Jul 28, 2026
https://overpass.kumi.systems/api/interpreter - Cleanview state pages: facility markers (id, name, coordinates, status, MW, county) · Sep 8, 2026 (retrieved)
https://cleanview.co/data-centers/ - Virginia statewide parcels (VGIN) (point queries) · Sep 9, 2026 (retrieved)
https://vginmaps.vdem.virginia.gov/arcgis/rest/services/VA_Base_Layers/VA_Parcels/FeatureServer/0 - EPA ECHO Exporter, all facilities (weekly refresh) · Sun, 06 Se
https://echo.epa.gov/files/echodownloads/echo_exporter.zip - Source cited by AI GridWatch for CoreWeave Chester VA: https://www.datacenterdynamics.com/en/news/chirisa-secures-200-million-loan-to-fit-out-virginia-data-center-for-coreweav · Sep 8, 2026 (retrieved)
https://www.datacenterdynamics.com/en/news/chirisa-secures-200-million-loan-to-fit-out-virginia-data-center-for-coreweave/ - agw_projects tracker export (AI GridWatch (aigridwatch.com), CC BY 4.0.) · Tue, 08 Se
https://aigridwatch.com/data/projects.csv - Google data center locations page (first party) · Sep 9, 2026 (retrieved)
https://www.google.com/about/datacenters/locations/
Data Centers Near Me. Compiled Sep 17, 2026 from the records listed above. The live version of this county, with the map and every source document, is at https://datacentersnearme.org/counties/virginia/chesterfield. Corrections are welcome and are published with the record they change.
Free to read, free to share, no account. If a fact here is wrong, the correction form on the site is the fastest way to get it fixed.