Microsoft DM1 Data Center
8855 GRAND AVE
Exact coordinate
Recorded as in service.
Status inferred from osm footprint+epa permit (Sun, 06 Se). No filing states it in as many words.
- Status
- Operating (inferred)
- Owner
- Microsoft
- Capacity
- 18 MW directory claim
- Location known to
- Exact coordinate
- County
- Dallas County
- State
- Iowa
- Electric utility
- Not identified
- Grid operator
- not stated
Location and nearby
Microsoft DM1 Data Center is on record as operating in Dallas County, Iowa. A directory lists its capacity at 18 MW; no filing we hold states a figure. 35 other campuses are on record within 25 miles, 4 of them within 5 miles. The nearest is 1.9 mi away.
Nearest of each kind: Operating 1.9 mi Under construction 15.9 mi Permitted 5.5 mi Proposed 3.0 mi
Nearest campuses on record
- 1.9 mi
Operating · Dallas County, IA
- 3.0 mi approximate
Microsoft Ruthenium - Building 1
Proposed · Madison County, IA
- 3.5 mi
Operating · Warren County, IA
- 3.6 mi approximate
Operating · Madison County, IA
- 5.3 mi approximate
Proposed · Warren County, IA
- 5.5 mi
Permitted · Polk County, IA
What is on record
Owner
Microsoft Strong
The chain
-
permittee name as filed with EPA
MICROSOFT DM1 DATA CENTER
EPA ECHO Exporter, all facilities (weekly refresh) · Sep 6, 2026
Filed by: MICROSOFT DM1 DATA CENTER
- Address on file
- 8855 GRAND AVE
- Capacity
- 18 MW as reported by cleanview, not from a filing
- Diesel generators
- Air permit on record IA0000001904900178 IA0001900002517008
- Water
- Not collected. State water withdrawal permits are not in this build.
- Electric utility
- More than one utility serves this county, and no filing we hold names which one
- Also recorded as
- MICROSOFT DM1 DATA CENTER · Microsoft · Microsoft Corporation · Microsoft Mountain - Building 1 · Microsoft Mountain - Building 2 · Microsoft Mountain - Building 3 and 2 more
Buildings and phases
4 distinct buildings, parcels or permits make up this campus.
| Name or address | Status | Permit | Area | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Microsoft | Operating | not stated | not stated | Jul 2, 2022 |
| Microsoft | Operating | not stated | not stated | Jul 2, 2022 |
| Microsoft | Operating | not stated | not stated | Jul 2, 2022 |
| Microsoft | Operating | not stated | not stated | Jul 2, 2022 |
How the status changed
- Operating Jul 2, 2022 inferred
osm footprint
Overpass data_center query, tile conus-c2 bbox 24.0,-95.0,50.0,-85.0
- Operating Jul 2, 2022 inferred
osm footprint
Overpass data_center query, tile conus-c2 bbox 24.0,-95.0,50.0,-85.0
- Operating Jul 2, 2022 inferred
osm footprint
Overpass data_center query, tile conus-c2 bbox 24.0,-95.0,50.0,-85.0
- Operating Jul 2, 2022 inferred
osm footprint
Overpass data_center query, tile conus-c2 bbox 24.0,-95.0,50.0,-85.0
- Operating Jul 2, 2022 inferred
OSM footprint plus EPA permit
Overpass data_center query, tile conus-c2 bbox 24.0,-95.0,50.0,-85.0
- Operating Jun 14, 2026 inferred
DCE status 'operating'
- Operating Sep 8, 2026 inferred
Cleanview status 'Operating'
Cleanview state pages: facility markers (id, name, coordinates, status, MW, county)
- Operating Sep 8, 2026 inferred
Cleanview status 'Operating'
Cleanview state pages: facility markers (id, name, coordinates, status, MW, county)
- Operating Sep 8, 2026 inferred
Cleanview status 'Operating'
Cleanview state pages: facility markers (id, name, coordinates, status, MW, county)
- Operating Sep 8, 2026 inferred
Cleanview status 'Operating'
Cleanview state pages: facility markers (id, name, coordinates, status, MW, county)
- Operating Sep 8, 2026 inferred
Cleanview status 'Operating'
Cleanview state pages: facility markers (id, name, coordinates, status, MW, county)
- Permitted Sep 6, 2026
epa air permit active
About this data
Evidence
Primary record
A government filing, a federal permit, an assessor parcel or the operator’s own page.
Location known to
Exact coordinate
A coordinate as filed with a government agency.
Independent sources
3
directory, federal permit, osm footprint. Directories count once between them, because they copy each other.
Spotted something wrong? Tell us and we will fix it.
Where this comes from
11 source records back this page. Each row is a document we retrieved and kept, so a claim can be checked against the original.
Cleanview (cleanview.co) © DataCentersExposed contributors, datacentersexposed.com, ODbL 1.0. Contains data © OpenStreetMap contributors.
Free email alerts
Know first when a data center is recorded in Dallas County
Each time we refresh the public records and a new campus appears in Dallas County, you get one short email naming it, with the document behind it.