Skip to the content
Data Centers Near Me
Operating (inferred) Polk County · IA

Facebook Altoona Data Center 1

Polk County, Iowa

Building outline

Recorded as in service.

Status inferred from osm footprint (Sep 8, 2026). No filing states it in as many words.

Get directions
Drawn at the mapped building outline. Other campuses on record nearby are drawn around it.
Status
Operating (inferred)
Owner
Likely Meta
Capacity
36 MW directory claim
Location known to
Building outline
County
Polk County
State
Iowa
Electric utility
Not identified
Grid operator
not stated

Location and nearby

Facebook Altoona Data Center 1 is on record as operating in Polk County, Iowa. A directory lists its capacity at 36 MW; no filing we hold states a figure. 35 other campuses are on record within 25 miles, 8 of them within 5 miles. The nearest is 0.26 mi away.

Nearest of each kind: Operating 0.26 mi Under construction 2.5 mi Permitted 1.9 mi Proposed 2.9 mi

Nearest campuses on record

What is on record

Owner

Likely Meta

One circumstantial signal, not a document chain.

What the signal was
  1. OSM operator tag

    Meta

    Overpass data_center query, tile conus-c2 bbox 24.0,-95.0,50.0,-85.0 · Mar 29, 2022

Filed by: Meta

Capacity
36 MW as reported by cleanview, not from a filing
Diesel generators
No air permit found in the records we collect
Water
Not collected. State water withdrawal permits are not in this build.
Electric utility
More than one utility serves this county, and no filing we hold names which one
Also recorded as
Facebook Altoona Data Center 2 · Facebook Altoona Data Center 3 · Facebook USA, Inc. · Meta · Meta Altoona - Building 2 · Meta Altoona - Building 3 and 1 more

Buildings and phases

3 distinct buildings, parcels or permits make up this campus.

Name or address Status Permit Area Date
Facebook Altoona Data Center 1 Operating not stated not stated Mar 29, 2022
Facebook Altoona Data Center 2 Operating not stated not stated Apr 26, 2022
Facebook Altoona Data Center 3 Operating not stated not stated Mar 19, 2025

How the status changed

  1. Operating Mar 29, 2022 inferred

    osm footprint

    Overpass data_center query, tile conus-c2 bbox 24.0,-95.0,50.0,-85.0

  2. Operating Apr 26, 2022 inferred

    osm footprint

    Overpass data_center query, tile conus-c2 bbox 24.0,-95.0,50.0,-85.0

  3. Operating Mar 19, 2025 inferred

    osm footprint

    Overpass data_center query, tile conus-c2 bbox 24.0,-95.0,50.0,-85.0

  4. Operating Jun 14, 2026 inferred

    DCE status 'mapped' (located only, single source)

    dce tracker export (© DataCentersExposed contributors, datacentersexposed.com, ODbL 1.0. Contains data © OpenStreetMap contributors.)

  5. Operating Sep 8, 2026 inferred

    Cleanview status 'Operating'

    Cleanview state pages: facility markers (id, name, coordinates, status, MW, county)

  6. Operating Sep 8, 2026 inferred

    Cleanview status 'Operating'

    Cleanview state pages: facility markers (id, name, coordinates, status, MW, county)

About this data

Evidence

Map footprint and directories

An OpenStreetMap footprint plus one or more directories. No filing behind it.

Location known to

Building outline

A mapped building outline.

Independent sources

2

directory, osm footprint. Directories count once between them, because they copy each other.

How we build this

Spotted something wrong? Tell us and we will fix it.

Where this comes from

6 source records back this page. Each row is a document we retrieved and kept, so a claim can be checked against the original.

Document Role Row Date
Overpass data_center query, tile conus-c2 bbox 24.0,-95.0,50.0,-85.0 US Primary osm=way/438078069 Mar 29, 2022 stated in the file
Overpass data_center query, tile conus-c2 bbox 24.0,-95.0,50.0,-85.0 US Primary osm=way/438078070 Apr 26, 2022 stated in the file
Overpass data_center query, tile conus-c2 bbox 24.0,-95.0,50.0,-85.0 US Primary osm=way/556564909 Mar 19, 2025 stated in the file
Cleanview state pages: facility markers (id, name, coordinates, status, MW, county) US Primary id=3016 Sep 8, 2026 retrieved by us
Cleanview state pages: facility markers (id, name, coordinates, status, MW, county) US Primary id=3017 Sep 8, 2026 retrieved by us
dce tracker export (© DataCentersExposed contributors, datacentersexposed.com, ODbL 1.0. Contains data © OpenStreetMap contributors.) US Primary slug=facebook-altoona-data-center-2-osmway-438078070 Jun 14, 2026 last changed on the server

Cleanview (cleanview.co) © DataCentersExposed contributors, datacentersexposed.com, ODbL 1.0. Contains data © OpenStreetMap contributors.

Free email alerts

Know first when a data center is recorded in Polk County

Each time we refresh the public records and a new campus appears in Polk County, you get one short email naming it, with the document behind it.

Explore more