Electric utilities in Alabama
61 utilities serve counties in Alabama; 19 of them serve a county with a data center on record.
| Utility | Ownership | Residential rate | Customers | Rate-setting |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama Power Co | Investor Owned | 16.77¢ | 1,332,911 | state commission |
| City of Huntsville - (AL) | Municipal | 11.45¢ | 197,537 | its own board |
| Baldwin County El Member Corp | Cooperative | 13.87¢ | 83,005 | its own board |
| Singing River Elec Cooperative | Cooperative | 13.46¢ | 72,679 | its own board |
| City of Athens - (AL) | Municipal | 12.24¢ | 50,985 | its own board |
| Foley Board of Utilities | Municipal | 13.48¢ | 50,954 | its own board |
| Central Alabama Electric Coop | Cooperative | 16.64¢ | 45,036 | its own board |
| City of Florence - (AL) | Municipal | 11.61¢ | 41,594 | its own board |
| Cullman Electric Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 13.26¢ | 39,779 | its own board |
| Joe Wheeler Elec Member Corp | Cooperative | 14.49¢ | 36,973 | its own board |
| Diverse Power Incorporated | Cooperative | 16.76¢ | 32,587 | its own board |
| Tallapoosa River Elec Coop Inc | Cooperative | 14.39¢ | 29,578 | its own board |
| Sand Mountain Electric Coop | Cooperative | 12.55¢ | 27,298 | its own board |
| City of Dothan - (AL) | Municipal | 10.72¢ | 26,752 | its own board |
| Covington Electric Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 16.65¢ | 23,281 | its own board |
| Decatur Utilities | Municipal | 11.15¢ | 22,820 | its own board |
| Wiregrass Electric Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 15.45¢ | 22,401 | its own board |
| Dixie Electric Coop - (AL) | Cooperative | 15.05¢ | 22,054 | its own board |
| Southern Pine Elec Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 13.90¢ | 20,645 | its own board |
| Black Warrior Elec Member Corp | Cooperative | 13.24¢ | 20,053 | its own board |
| Cherokee Electric Coop - (AL) | Cooperative | 15.06¢ | 18,830 | its own board |
| Clarke-Washington E M C | Cooperative | 15.76¢ | 18,708 | its own board |
| Marshall-De Kalb Electric Coop | Cooperative | 12.49¢ | 17,318 | its own board |
| South Alabama Elec Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 15.44¢ | 16,801 | its own board |
| Sheffield Utilities | Municipal | 12.35¢ | 15,663 | its own board |
| Coosa Valley Electric Coop Inc | Cooperative | 15.71¢ | 15,612 | its own board |
| Pea River Electric Coop | Cooperative | 16.77¢ | 14,922 | its own board |
| Arab Electric Coop Inc | Cooperative | 11.96¢ | 14,062 | its own board |
| City of Opelika - (AL) | Municipal | 12.83¢ | 13,555 | its own board |
| North Alabama Electric Coop | Cooperative | 12.83¢ | 13,099 | its own board |
| City of Bessemer Utilities | Municipal | 12.26¢ | 9,378 | its own board |
| Albertville Municipal Utilities Board | Municipal | 10.67¢ | 8,318 | its own board |
| City of Troy - (AL) | Municipal | 9.66¢ | 7,855 | its own board |
| City of Muscle Shoals | Municipal | 11.96¢ | 7,154 | its own board |
| City of Scottsboro - (AL) | Municipal | 12.87¢ | 7,090 | its own board |
| Cullman Power Board | Municipal | 12.64¢ | 7,049 | its own board |
| Fort Payne Improvement Authority | Municipal | 12.14¢ | 6,922 | its own board |
| Franklin Electric Coop - (AL) | Cooperative | 14.03¢ | 5,979 | its own board |
| Guntersville Electric Board | Municipal | 12.80¢ | 4,875 | its own board |
| City of Hartselle | Municipal | 12.14¢ | 4,629 | its own board |
| City of Tuscumbia | Municipal | 11.81¢ | 4,038 | its own board |
| City of Russellville - (AL) | Municipal | 13.25¢ | 3,890 | its own board |
| City of Andalusia | Municipal | 15.78¢ | 3,605 | its own board |
| City of Tarrant | Municipal | 13.45¢ | 2,069 | its own board |
| City of Courtland | Municipal | 11.91¢ | 551 | its own board |
| City of Alexander City | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Brundidge - (AL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Elba - (AL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Evergreen - (AL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Fairhope - (AL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Hartford - (AL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Lafayette - (AL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Lanett - (AL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Luverne - (AL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Opp - (AL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Piedmont - (AL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Robertsdale | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Sylacauga Utilities Board | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Tombigbee Electric Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Tuskegee | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Pioneer Electric Coop, Inc - (AL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
Coverage in AL: national sources only. 35 campuses on record.
Records from directories are labelled by source and are not verified against a filing. County filings, PUC dockets, air and water permits and corporate registries are collected only where a government publishes them (see depth).