Electric utilities in California
61 utilities serve counties in California; 48 of them serve a county with a data center on record.
| Utility | Ownership | Residential rate | Customers | Rate-setting |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pacific Gas & Electric Co. | Investor Owned | 31.70¢ | 5,047,461 | state commission |
| Southern California Edison Co | Investor Owned | 28.25¢ | 4,594,415 | state commission |
| PacifiCorp | Investor Owned | 13.07¢ | 1,837,507 | state commission |
| Los Angeles Department of Water & Power | Municipal | 23.84¢ | 1,410,191 | its own board |
| San Diego Gas & Electric Co | Investor Owned | 32.47¢ | 1,364,361 | state commission |
| Sacramento Municipal Util Dist | Political Subdivision | 17.87¢ | 592,557 | its own board |
| Central Coast Community Energy | Community Choice Aggregator | 13.01¢ | 383,835 | its own board |
| Imperial Irrigation District | Political Subdivision | 17.91¢ | 142,078 | its own board |
| City of Anaheim - (CA) | Municipal | 17.11¢ | 105,839 | its own board |
| Modesto Irrigation District | Political Subdivision | 21.78¢ | 103,650 | its own board |
| City of Riverside - (CA) | Municipal | 20.20¢ | 100,450 | its own board |
| Turlock Irrigation District | Political Subdivision | 16.34¢ | 80,575 | its own board |
| City of Glendale - (CA) | Municipal | 33.81¢ | 77,563 | its own board |
| City of Roseville - (CA) | Municipal | 18.66¢ | 63,052 | its own board |
| City of Pasadena - (CA) | Municipal | 25.98¢ | 58,551 | its own board |
| City of Santa Clara - (CA) | Municipal | 16.88¢ | 50,949 | its own board |
| City of Burbank Water and Power | Municipal | 19.25¢ | 46,157 | its own board |
| Liberty Utilities | Investor Owned | 25.92¢ | 43,902 | state commission |
| City of Redding - (CA) | Municipal | 17.85¢ | 38,170 | its own board |
| Alameda Municipal Power | Municipal | 22.98¢ | 33,174 | its own board |
| City of Palo Alto - (CA) | Municipal | 20.67¢ | 26,249 | its own board |
| City of Lodi - (CA) | Municipal | 22.47¢ | 23,751 | its own board |
| Bear Valley Electric Service | Investor Owned | 30.67¢ | 23,327 | state commission |
| Valley Electric Assn, Inc | Cooperative | 16.73¢ | 22,380 | its own board |
| City of Colton - (CA) | Municipal | 24.85¢ | 17,472 | its own board |
| City of Azusa | Municipal | 19.08¢ | 15,599 | its own board |
| Merced Irrigation District | Political Subdivision | 24.25¢ | 11,366 | its own board |
| City of Moreno Valley - (CA) | Municipal | 39.87¢ | 7,936 | its own board |
| City of Shasta Lake - (CA) | Municipal | 19.26¢ | 4,268 | its own board |
| Surprise Valley Electrification | Cooperative | 13.01¢ | 4,002 | its own board |
| City & County of San Francisco | Municipal | 24.05¢ | 2,618 | its own board |
| City of Corona - (CA) | Municipal | 15.50¢ | 1,285 | its own board |
| City of Vernon | Municipal | 14.55¢ | 73 | its own board |
| Anza Electric Coop Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Banning - (CA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Biggs - (CA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Bonneville Power Administration | Federal | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Colorado River Indian Irr Proj | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Escondido - (CA) | Municipal | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Gridley - (CA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Healdsburg - (CA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Kings River Conservation Dist | Political Subdivision | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Lassen Municipal Utility District | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Lompoc - (CA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Needles - (CA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Plumas-Sierra Rural Elec Coop | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Trinity Public Utilities Dist | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Tuolumne County Pub Power Agny | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Truckee Donner P U D | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Ukiah - (CA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| WAPA-- Western Area Power Administration | Federal | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Victorville - (CA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Rancho Cucamonga Municipal Utility | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Aha Macav Power Service | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Pittsburg Power Company | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| DOD USMC Marine Air Ground Combat | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Port of Stockton - (CA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Port of Oakland | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Lathrop Irrigation District | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Kirkwood Meadows PUD | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Shelter Cove Resort Improvement Dist No. 1 | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
Coverage in CA: national sources, assessor parcels and county or state planning layers. 269 campuses on record.
Records from directories are labelled by source and are not verified against a filing. County filings, PUC dockets, air and water permits and corporate registries are collected only where a government publishes them (see depth).