Electric utilities in Illinois
72 utilities serve counties in Illinois; 30 of them serve a county with a data center on record.
| Utility | Ownership | Residential rate | Customers | Rate-setting |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commonwealth Edison Co | Investor Owned | 13.39¢ | 3,727,675 | state commission |
| Ameren Illinois Company | Investor Owned | 11.76¢ | 1,060,894 | state commission |
| MidAmerican Energy Co | Investor Owned | 10.90¢ | 710,254 | state commission |
| City of Springfield - (IL) | Municipal | 11.95¢ | 59,621 | its own board |
| City of Naperville - (IL) | Municipal | 12.98¢ | 56,117 | its own board |
| Corn Belt Energy Corporation | Cooperative | 15.76¢ | 34,710 | its own board |
| Southwestern Electric Coop Inc - (IL) | Cooperative | 13.68¢ | 24,822 | its own board |
| Southeastern IL Elec Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 14.47¢ | 22,731 | its own board |
| Norris Electric Coop | Cooperative | 15.08¢ | 18,074 | its own board |
| Jo-Carroll Energy, Inc | Cooperative | 19.79¢ | 17,227 | its own board |
| Rock Energy Cooperative | Cooperative | 14.72¢ | 16,649 | its own board |
| Tri-County Electric Coop, Inc (IL) | Cooperative | 16.04¢ | 16,197 | its own board |
| City of St Charles - (IL) | Municipal | 15.37¢ | 14,181 | its own board |
| Egyptian Electric Coop Assn | Cooperative | 15.53¢ | 13,707 | its own board |
| Scenic Rivers Energy Coop | Cooperative | 15.23¢ | 13,609 | its own board |
| Wayne-White Counties Elec Coop | Cooperative | 16.58¢ | 11,957 | its own board |
| Eastern Illinois Elec Coop | Cooperative | 17.10¢ | 11,115 | its own board |
| City of Batavia - (IL) | Municipal | 14.08¢ | 10,020 | its own board |
| Shelby Electric Coop, Inc - (IL) | Cooperative | 18.63¢ | 9,871 | its own board |
| Menard Electric Coop | Cooperative | 18.05¢ | 9,048 | its own board |
| City of Geneva- (IL) | Municipal | 11.03¢ | 8,691 | its own board |
| Coles-Moultrie Electric Coop | Cooperative | 17.14¢ | 8,456 | its own board |
| Rochelle Municipal Utilities | Municipal | 13.22¢ | 5,854 | its own board |
| City of Peru - (IL) | Municipal | 12.00¢ | 4,993 | its own board |
| Mt Carmel Public Utility Co | Investor Owned | 19.13¢ | 4,327 | state commission |
| Adams Electric Coop | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Albany - (IL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Allendale- (IL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Altamont - (IL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Bethany - (IL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Breese - (IL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Bushnell - (IL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Cairo Public Utility Company | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Carlyle - (IL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Carmi - (IL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Casey - (IL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Chatham - (IL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Clay Electric Coop Inc - (IL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Clinton County Elec Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Enerstar Power Corp | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Fairfield- (IL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Farmer City - (IL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Flora - (IL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Freeburg - (IL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Geneseo - (IL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Greenup - (IL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Highland | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| M J M Electric Cooperative Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Illinois Rural Electric Coop | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Marshall - (IL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Mascoutah - (IL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| McDonough Power Coop | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of McLeansboro - (IL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Metropolis - (IL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Monroe County Elec Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Newton - (IL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Oglesby - (IL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Princeton - (IL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Rantoul - (IL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Red Bud - (IL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Riverton - (IL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Rock Falls - (IL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Roodhouse - (IL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Rural Electric Conven Coop - (IL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Southern Illinois Elec Coop | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Spoon River Electric Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Sullivan - (IL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| University of Illinois | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Waterloo - (IL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Winnetka - (IL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Western Illinois Elec Coop | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Ladd - (IL) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
Coverage in IL: national sources plus assessor parcel records, a priority state for deeper collection. 116 campuses on record.
Records from directories are labelled by source and are not verified against a filing. County filings, PUC dockets, air and water permits and corporate registries are collected only where a government publishes them (see depth).