Electric utilities in Massachusetts
46 utilities serve counties in Massachusetts; 43 of them serve a county with a data center on record.
| Utility | Ownership | Residential rate | Customers | Rate-setting |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NSTAR Electric Company | Investor Owned | 19.92¢ | 1,303,076 | state commission |
| Massachusetts Electric Co | Investor Owned | 23.07¢ | 1,210,113 | state commission |
| City of Taunton | Municipal | 21.46¢ | 35,684 | its own board |
| Town of Reading - (MA) | Municipal | 15.86¢ | 27,405 | its own board |
| Fitchburg Gas & Elec Light Co | Investor Owned | 23.97¢ | 26,290 | state commission |
| City of Chicopee - (MA) | Municipal | 16.16¢ | 23,218 | its own board |
| City of Peabody - (MA) | Municipal | 15.71¢ | 22,546 | its own board |
| City of Westfield - (MA) | Municipal | 17.59¢ | 16,200 | its own board |
| Town of Shrewsbury - (MA) | Municipal | 14.27¢ | 15,713 | its own board |
| City of Holyoke - (MA) | Municipal | 16.58¢ | 15,040 | its own board |
| Town of Middleborough - (MA) | Municipal | 15.84¢ | 14,884 | its own board |
| Town of Braintree - (MA) | Municipal | 15.79¢ | 14,039 | its own board |
| City of Norwood - (MA) | Municipal | 17.67¢ | 13,601 | its own board |
| Nantucket Electric Co | Investor Owned | 20.68¢ | 12,823 | state commission |
| Town of North Attleborough - (MA) | Municipal | 15.91¢ | 12,607 | its own board |
| Town of Danvers | Municipal | 16.45¢ | 11,594 | its own board |
| Town of Hudson - (MA) | Municipal | 13.39¢ | 11,448 | its own board |
| Town of Wellesley - (MA) | Municipal | 16.20¢ | 9,437 | its own board |
| Town of Mansfield - (MA) | Municipal | 15.16¢ | 9,399 | its own board |
| Town of Littleton - (MA) | Municipal | 14.12¢ | 6,738 | its own board |
| Town of Ashburnham - (MA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Belmont - (MA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Boylston - (MA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Chester | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Concord - (MA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Georgetown - (MA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Groton - (MA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Groveland - (MA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Holden - (MA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Hingham - (MA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Hull Municipal Light Plant | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Ipswich - (MA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Marblehead - (MA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Merrimac - (MA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Middleton - (MA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Paxton - (MA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Princeton - (MA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Rowley - (MA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Russell - (MA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of South Hadley - (MA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Sterling - (MA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Templeton - (MA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Wakefield - (MA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of West Boylston - (MA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Massachusetts Bay Trans Authority | Political Subdivision | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| University of Massachusetts Amherst | State | not stated | not stated | its own board |
Coverage in MA: national sources only. 47 campuses on record.
Records from directories are labelled by source and are not verified against a filing. County filings, PUC dockets, air and water permits and corporate registries are collected only where a government publishes them (see depth).