Electric utilities in Minnesota
171 utilities serve counties in Minnesota; 65 of them serve a county with a data center on record.
| Utility | Ownership | Residential rate | Customers | Rate-setting |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Northern States Power Co - Minnesota | Investor Owned | 16.38¢ | 1,405,248 | state commission |
| Connexus Energy | Cooperative | 13.66¢ | 134,095 | its own board |
| ALLETE, Inc. | Investor Owned | 15.66¢ | 125,896 | state commission |
| Dakota Electric Association | Cooperative | 14.00¢ | 108,097 | its own board |
| Otter Tail Power Co | Investor Owned | 11.32¢ | 104,633 | state commission |
| East Central Energy | Cooperative | 16.87¢ | 60,432 | its own board |
| Rochester Public Utilities | Municipal | 17.91¢ | 54,943 | its own board |
| Wright-Hennepin Coop Elec Assn | Cooperative | 14.59¢ | 53,714 | its own board |
| Lake Country Power | Cooperative | 17.90¢ | 47,204 | its own board |
| Crow Wing Cooperative Power & Light Comp | Cooperative | 13.33¢ | 44,698 | its own board |
| Minnesota Valley Electric Coop | Cooperative | 13.98¢ | 43,412 | its own board |
| Lake Region Electric Cooperative - (MN) | Cooperative | 13.28¢ | 27,239 | its own board |
| Stearns Cooperative Elec Assn | Cooperative | 13.88¢ | 26,138 | its own board |
| Sioux Valley SW Elec Coop | Cooperative | 12.87¢ | 25,583 | its own board |
| People's Cooperative Services | Cooperative | 16.70¢ | 21,665 | its own board |
| MiEnergy Cooperative | Cooperative | 16.66¢ | 21,230 | its own board |
| Beltrami Electric Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 14.40¢ | 20,732 | its own board |
| Shakopee Public Utilities Comm | Municipal | 15.54¢ | 18,517 | its own board |
| BENCO Electric Cooperative | Cooperative | 15.03¢ | 18,361 | its own board |
| City of Moorhead - (MN) | Municipal | 11.38¢ | 18,180 | its own board |
| Freeborn Mower Electric Cooperative | Cooperative | 15.15¢ | 17,848 | its own board |
| Mille Lacs Energy Cooperative | Cooperative | 17.58¢ | 14,546 | its own board |
| Runestone Electric Assn | Cooperative | 14.36¢ | 14,282 | its own board |
| Wild Rice Electric Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 14.35¢ | 13,948 | its own board |
| Northwestern Wisconsin Elec Co | Investor Owned | 13.84¢ | 13,078 | state commission |
| City of Elk River | Municipal | 15.83¢ | 11,776 | its own board |
| City of Anoka | Municipal | 15.88¢ | 11,646 | its own board |
| City of Owatonna - (MN) | Municipal | 15.27¢ | 11,434 | its own board |
| Itasca-Mantrap Co-op Electrical Assn | Cooperative | 13.44¢ | 11,200 | its own board |
| City of Chaska - (MN) | Municipal | 16.28¢ | 10,954 | its own board |
| City of Austin - (MN) | Municipal | 15.34¢ | 10,795 | its own board |
| Steele-Waseca Cooperative Electric | Cooperative | 15.63¢ | 10,725 | its own board |
| City of Alexandria - (MN) | Municipal | 11.57¢ | 8,758 | its own board |
| Willmar Municipal Utilities | Municipal | 12.21¢ | 8,662 | its own board |
| Meeker Coop Light & Power Assn | Cooperative | 14.09¢ | 8,572 | its own board |
| Brainerd Public Utilities | Municipal | 12.15¢ | 6,956 | its own board |
| Hutchinson Utilities Comm | Municipal | 11.09¢ | 6,653 | its own board |
| City of Marshall - (MN) | Municipal | 9.70¢ | 5,857 | its own board |
| Federated Rural Electric Assn | Cooperative | 11.64¢ | 5,780 | its own board |
| Minnesota Valley Coop L&P Assn | Cooperative | 12.22¢ | 4,931 | its own board |
| South Central Electric Assn | Cooperative | 15.20¢ | 4,665 | its own board |
| City of Worthington - (MN) | Municipal | 12.08¢ | 4,662 | its own board |
| Heartland Power Coop | Cooperative | 12.67¢ | 4,389 | its own board |
| Agralite Electric Coop | Cooperative | 13.94¢ | 4,333 | its own board |
| Glencoe Light & Power Comm | Municipal | 11.17¢ | 2,585 | its own board |
| City of Lake Crystal - (MN) | Municipal | 20.97¢ | 1,070 | its own board |
| City of Ada - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Adrian Public Utilities Comm | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Aitkin Public Utilities Comm | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Alpha - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Alvarado - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Arlington - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Arrowhead Electric Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Bagley Public Utilities Comm | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Barnesville - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Baudette - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Benson - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Biwabik - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Blooming Prairie - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Blue Earth Light & Water | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Breckenridge- (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Brewster - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Brown County Rural Elec Assn | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Brownton - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Buffalo - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Buhl - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Caledonia - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Ceylon - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Clearwater-Polk Elec Coop Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Cooperative L&P Assn Lake County | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Delano Municipal Utilities | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Detroit Lakes - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of East Grand Forks - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Eitzen - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Elbow Lake - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Ely - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Fairfax - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Fairmont Public Utilities Comm | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Fosston - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Gilbert | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Goodhue County Coop Elec Assn | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Grand Marais - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Grand Rapids Public Util Comm | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Granite Falls - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Grove City | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| H-D Electric Coop Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Halstad - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Harmony - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Hawley Public Utilities Comm | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Henning - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Hibbing Public Utilities Comm | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Jackson - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Janesville - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Kandiyohi Power Coop | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Kasota - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Kasson | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Keewatin Public Utilities | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Kenyon Municipal Utilities | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Lake City - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Lake Park - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Lakefield - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Lanesboro Public Utility Comm | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Le Sueur - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Litchfield Public Utilities | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Luverne - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Lyon Electric Cooperative, Inc. | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Mabel - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Madison - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| McLeod Cooperative Power Assn | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Melrose Public Utilities | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Moose Lake Water & Light Comm | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Mora - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Mountain Iron - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Mountain Lake - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Nashwauk - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Nielsville - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| New Prague Utilities Comm | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| New Ulm Public Utilities Comm | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Newfolden - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Nobles Cooperative Electric | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| North Itasca Electric Coop Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of North St Paul - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| North Star Electric Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Olivia - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| P K M Electric Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Ortonville - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Peterson - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Pierz - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Preston Public Utilities Comm | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Princeton Public Utils Comm | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Proctor Public Utilities Comm | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Randall - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Redwood Electric Coop | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Redwood Falls Public Util Comm | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Renville-Sibley Coop Pwr Assn | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Roseau Electric Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Roseau - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Rushford - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Rushmore - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Sauk Centre - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Shelly - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Sleepy Eye Public Utility Comm | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Spring Grove | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Spring Valley Pub Utils Comm | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Springfield Public Utils Comm - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of St Charles - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of St James - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Saint Peter | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Staples- (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Stephen - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Thief River Falls | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Traverse Electric Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Truman Public Utilities Comm | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Two Harbors- (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Tyler - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Virginia - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Wadena - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Warren - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Warroad | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Waseca - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Westbrook | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Whalan - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Windom | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Winthrop - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Red Lake Electric Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Red River Valley Coop Pwr Assn | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| WAPA-- Western Area Power Administration | Federal | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Round Lake - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Todd-Wadena Electric Coop | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Wells - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Madelia - (MN) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
Coverage in MN: national sources only. 68 campuses on record.
Records from directories are labelled by source and are not verified against a filing. County filings, PUC dockets, air and water permits and corporate registries are collected only where a government publishes them (see depth).