Electric utilities in Montana
37 utilities serve counties in Montana; 26 of them serve a county with a data center on record.
| Utility | Ownership | Residential rate | Customers | Rate-setting |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Avista Corp | Investor Owned | 11.78¢ | 374,290 | state commission |
| NorthWestern Energy LLC - (MT) | Investor Owned | 14.23¢ | 328,421 | state commission |
| Montana-Dakota Utilities Co | Investor Owned | 12.06¢ | 120,043 | state commission |
| Flathead Electric Coop Inc | Cooperative | 9.67¢ | 63,317 | its own board |
| Black Hills Power, Inc. | Investor Owned | 14.33¢ | 62,981 | state commission |
| Northern Lights, Inc | Cooperative | 11.67¢ | 22,510 | its own board |
| Yellowstone Valley Elec Co-op | Cooperative | 13.35¢ | 21,182 | its own board |
| Fall River Rural Elec Coop Inc | Cooperative | 11.08¢ | 17,282 | its own board |
| USBIA-Mission Valley Power | Federal | 8.91¢ | 16,292 | its own board |
| Powder River Energy Corp | Cooperative | 11.73¢ | 15,458 | its own board |
| Missoula Electric Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 10.50¢ | 14,732 | its own board |
| Fergus Electric Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 15.52¢ | 6,682 | its own board |
| McKenzie Electric Coop Inc | Cooperative | 7.86¢ | 5,407 | its own board |
| Lower Yellowstone R E A, Inc | Cooperative | 8.86¢ | 4,298 | its own board |
| Beartooth Electric Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Big Flat Electric Coop Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Big Horn Rural Electric Co | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Big Horn County Elec Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Bonneville Power Administration | Federal | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Glacier Electric Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Goldenwest Electric Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Grand Electric Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Hill County Electric Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Lincoln Electric Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Marias River Electric Coop Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| McCone Electric Coop Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Mid-Yellowstone Elec Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| NorVal Electric Cooperative, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Park Electric Coop Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Sheridan Electric Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Southeast Electric Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Sun River Electric Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Tongue River Electric Coop Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Troy - (MT) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Vigilante Electric Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Ravalli County Elec Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| WAPA-- Western Area Power Administration | Federal | not stated | not stated | its own board |
Coverage in MT: national sources only. 15 campuses on record.
Records from directories are labelled by source and are not verified against a filing. County filings, PUC dockets, air and water permits and corporate registries are collected only where a government publishes them (see depth).