Electric utilities in South Dakota
72 utilities serve counties in South Dakota; 22 of them serve a county with a data center on record.
| Utility | Ownership | Residential rate | Customers | Rate-setting |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Northern States Power Co - Minnesota | Investor Owned | 16.38¢ | 1,405,248 | state commission |
| MidAmerican Energy Co | Investor Owned | 10.90¢ | 710,254 | state commission |
| Montana-Dakota Utilities Co | Investor Owned | 12.06¢ | 120,043 | state commission |
| Otter Tail Power Co | Investor Owned | 11.32¢ | 104,633 | state commission |
| Nebraska Public Power District | Political Subdivision | 10.61¢ | 74,694 | its own board |
| Black Hills Power, Inc. | Investor Owned | 14.33¢ | 62,981 | state commission |
| NorthWestern Energy - (SD) | Investor Owned | 12.56¢ | 51,467 | state commission |
| Sioux Valley SW Elec Coop | Cooperative | 12.87¢ | 25,583 | its own board |
| Southeastern Electric Coop Inc - (SD) | Cooperative | 12.41¢ | 20,160 | its own board |
| West River Electric Assn Inc | Cooperative | 14.25¢ | 18,423 | its own board |
| Watertown Municipal Utilities | Municipal | 9.30¢ | 11,633 | its own board |
| City of Brookings - (SD) | Municipal | 11.12¢ | 10,544 | its own board |
| Black Hills Electric Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 14.76¢ | 9,227 | its own board |
| Central Electric Coop, Inc - (SD) | Cooperative | 13.64¢ | 6,483 | its own board |
| City of Pierre - (SD) | Municipal | 10.65¢ | 6,126 | its own board |
| Northern Electric Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 11.29¢ | 5,757 | its own board |
| Rosebud Electric Coop Inc | Cooperative | 10.63¢ | 4,856 | its own board |
| Dakota Energy Coop Inc | Cooperative | 15.30¢ | 3,224 | its own board |
| City of Madison - (SD) | Municipal | 11.49¢ | 2,802 | its own board |
| City of Volga - (SD) | Municipal | 12.80¢ | 1,075 | its own board |
| City of Arlington - (SD) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Aurora - (SD) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Badger - (SD) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Beresford | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Big Stone City - (SD) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Bon Homme Yankton El Assn, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Bryant - (SD) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Burke - (SD) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Butte Electric Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Cam Wal Electric Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Charles Mix Electric Assn, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Cherry-Todd Electric Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of McLaughlin - (SD) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Clay-Union Electric Corp | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Colman - (SD) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Codington-Clark Elec Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Douglas Electric Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Elk Point | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Estelline - (SD) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Faith - (SD) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| FEM Electric Assn, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Flandreau | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Fort Pierre - (SD) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Grand Electric Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Groton - (SD) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| H-D Electric Coop Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Hecla | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Howard - (SD) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Kingsbury Electric Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| LaCreek Electric Assn, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Lake Region Electric Assn, Inc - (SD) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Miller - (SD) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Moreau-Grand Electric Coop Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Niobrara Electric Assn, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Oahe Electric Coop Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Onida - (SD) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Parker - (SD) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Plankinton - (SD) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Sioux Falls - (SD) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Southeast Electric Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Traverse Electric Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Tyndall - (SD) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Union County Electric Coop Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Vermillion - (SD) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Wessington Springs | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| West Central Electric Coop Inc - (SD) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Whetstone Valley Elec Coop Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Winner Municipal Utility | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Langford- (SD) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| WAPA-- Western Area Power Administration | Federal | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of White - (SD) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Pickstown - (SD) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
Coverage in SD: national sources only. 13 campuses on record.
Records from directories are labelled by source and are not verified against a filing. County filings, PUC dockets, air and water permits and corporate registries are collected only where a government publishes them (see depth).