Electric utilities in Texas
150 utilities serve counties in Texas; 109 of them serve a county with a data center on record.
| Utility | Ownership | Residential rate | Customers | Rate-setting |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| City of San Antonio - (TX) | Municipal | 12.43¢ | 865,914 | its own board |
| Austin Energy | Municipal | 12.58¢ | 507,291 | its own board |
| Southwestern Electric Power Co | Investor Owned | 12.60¢ | 471,384 | state commission |
| Entergy Texas Inc. | Investor Owned | 13.66¢ | 457,369 | state commission |
| El Paso Electric Co | Investor Owned | 12.67¢ | 407,336 | state commission |
| Pedernales Electric Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 12.22¢ | 405,587 | its own board |
| Southwestern Public Service Co | Investor Owned | 12.91¢ | 322,686 | state commission |
| Denton County Elec Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 13.77¢ | 298,734 | its own board |
| Magic Valley Electric Coop Inc | Cooperative | 10.20¢ | 126,402 | its own board |
| Tri-County Electric Coop, Inc (TX) | Cooperative | 12.65¢ | 118,075 | its own board |
| Bluebonnet Electric Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 11.42¢ | 113,890 | its own board |
| Guadalupe Valley Elec Coop Inc | Cooperative | 12.49¢ | 92,189 | its own board |
| Grayson-Collin Elec Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 16.40¢ | 90,464 | its own board |
| United Electric Coop Service Inc - (TX) | Cooperative | 13.00¢ | 88,324 | its own board |
| Sam Houston Electric Coop Inc | Cooperative | 12.62¢ | 86,118 | its own board |
| Farmers Electric Coop, Inc - (TX) | Cooperative | 11.51¢ | 84,006 | its own board |
| Trinity Valley Elec Coop Inc | Cooperative | 11.26¢ | 79,954 | its own board |
| City of Garland - (TX) | Municipal | 13.48¢ | 69,421 | its own board |
| City of Denton - (TX) | Municipal | 12.81¢ | 58,941 | its own board |
| City of Bryan - (TX) | Municipal | 11.38¢ | 58,284 | its own board |
| South Plains Electric Coop Inc | Cooperative | 10.35¢ | 56,173 | its own board |
| City of New Braunfels - (TX) | Municipal | 13.18¢ | 53,975 | its own board |
| Brownsville Public Utilities Board | Municipal | 12.70¢ | 48,146 | its own board |
| Nueces Electric Cooperative | Cooperative | 10.68¢ | 46,409 | its own board |
| Upshur Rural Elec Coop Corp | Cooperative | 12.40¢ | 44,415 | its own board |
| City of College Station - (TX) | Municipal | 14.57¢ | 42,995 | its own board |
| Deep East Texas Elec Coop Inc | Cooperative | 13.10¢ | 40,404 | its own board |
| Central Texas Elec Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 11.03¢ | 39,569 | its own board |
| Mid-South Electric Coop Assn | Cooperative | 14.08¢ | 36,267 | its own board |
| Wood County Electric Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 12.83¢ | 35,793 | its own board |
| Bandera Electric Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 12.40¢ | 35,346 | its own board |
| Bowie-Cass Electric Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 12.56¢ | 34,526 | its own board |
| San Bernard Electric Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 14.16¢ | 31,774 | its own board |
| Medina Electric Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 12.10¢ | 30,205 | its own board |
| City of Georgetown - (TX) | Municipal | 13.87¢ | 29,904 | its own board |
| HILCO Electric Cooperative, Inc. | Cooperative | 14.91¢ | 26,883 | its own board |
| Southwest Arkansas E C C | Cooperative | 12.93¢ | 26,186 | its own board |
| City of San Marcos - (TX) | Municipal | 12.03¢ | 22,261 | its own board |
| Cherokee County Elec Coop Assn - (TX) | Cooperative | 14.92¢ | 22,026 | its own board |
| Victoria Electric Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 12.13¢ | 21,500 | its own board |
| Houston County Elec Coop Inc | Cooperative | 16.60¢ | 21,426 | its own board |
| Jasper-Newton Elec Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 12.96¢ | 21,180 | its own board |
| Kerrville Public Utility Board | Municipal | 8.71¢ | 20,278 | its own board |
| Wise Electric Coop Inc | Cooperative | 15.56¢ | 20,137 | its own board |
| Navasota Valley Elec Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 15.75¢ | 19,672 | its own board |
| Hamilton County Elec Coop Assn | Cooperative | 13.69¢ | 19,594 | its own board |
| Taylor Electric Coop Inc - (TX) | Cooperative | 15.37¢ | 18,722 | its own board |
| Heart of Texas Electric Coop | Cooperative | 12.62¢ | 18,722 | its own board |
| Navarro County Elec Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 14.25¢ | 18,435 | its own board |
| Rusk County Electric Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 12.90¢ | 18,152 | its own board |
| Panola-Harrison Elec Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 9.13¢ | 17,853 | its own board |
| Cooke County Elec Coop Assn | Cooperative | 14.01¢ | 15,886 | its own board |
| City of Floresville | Municipal | 12.37¢ | 15,797 | its own board |
| Jackson Electric Coop, Inc - (TX) | Cooperative | 13.42¢ | 15,620 | its own board |
| Tri-County Electric Coop, Inc (OK) | Cooperative | 15.89¢ | 15,513 | its own board |
| City of Greenville - (TX) | Municipal | 14.95¢ | 15,165 | its own board |
| Weatherford Mun Utility System | Municipal | 12.69¢ | 14,466 | its own board |
| Fayette Electric Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 12.54¢ | 14,150 | its own board |
| Karnes Electric Coop Inc | Cooperative | 9.90¢ | 13,222 | its own board |
| Lamar County Elec Coop Assn | Cooperative | 13.71¢ | 12,935 | its own board |
| Concho Valley Elec Coop Inc | Cooperative | 12.73¢ | 12,060 | its own board |
| Fannin County Electric Coop | Cooperative | 15.65¢ | 11,712 | its own board |
| Bartlett Electric Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 16.09¢ | 11,527 | its own board |
| Farmers Electric Coop, Inc - (NM) | Cooperative | 12.87¢ | 10,258 | its own board |
| San Patricio Electric Coop Inc | Cooperative | 13.99¢ | 10,007 | its own board |
| Rio Grande Electric Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 18.51¢ | 9,530 | its own board |
| Big Country Electric Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 13.72¢ | 9,449 | its own board |
| Lea County Electric Coop, Inc - (NM) | Cooperative | 10.01¢ | 9,206 | its own board |
| Lyntegar Electric Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 8.99¢ | 9,021 | its own board |
| City of Seguin - (TX) | Municipal | 10.89¢ | 8,478 | its own board |
| Comanche County Elec Coop Assn | Cooperative | 15.52¢ | 7,359 | its own board |
| City of Brenham - (TX) | Municipal | 10.58¢ | 6,059 | its own board |
| Southwest Texas Elec Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 13.55¢ | 5,886 | its own board |
| Wharton County Elec Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 13.37¢ | 5,548 | its own board |
| Deaf Smith Electric Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 8.83¢ | 5,333 | its own board |
| City of Lubbock - (TX) | Municipal | 13.69¢ | 4,825 | its own board |
| Greenbelt Electric Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 18.00¢ | 3,912 | its own board |
| Lighthouse Electric Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 14.59¢ | 3,878 | its own board |
| Bailey County Elec Coop Assn | Cooperative | 8.77¢ | 3,348 | its own board |
| North Plains Electric Coop Inc | Cooperative | 10.15¢ | 3,081 | its own board |
| Lamb County Electric Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 9.52¢ | 2,810 | its own board |
| Southwestern Electric Coop Inc - (NM) | Cooperative | 24.04¢ | 1,449 | its own board |
| Rita Blanca Electric Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 8.28¢ | 1,255 | its own board |
| Texas A&M, Utilities & Energy Services | State | 8.69¢ | 2 | its own board |
| City of Bartlett - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Bastrop - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Bellville - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Boerne | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Bowie - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Brady - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Bridgeport - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Brownfield - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Burnet - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Caldwell | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Castroville - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| AEP Texas Central Company | Investor Owned | not stated | not stated | state commission |
| City of Coleman - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Coleman County Elec Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Cuero - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Electra - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Farmersville - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Flatonia - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Floydada - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Fort Belknap Electric Coop Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Fredericksburg - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Giddings - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Goldthwaite - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Gonzales - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Goldsmith - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Granbury - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Hallettsville - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Harmon Electric Assn Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Hearne - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Hemphill - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Hempstead - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Hondo - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| CenterPoint Energy | Investor Owned | not stated | not stated | state commission |
| J-A-C Electric Coop Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Jasper - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Kirbyville Light & Power Co | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of La Grange - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Lampasas - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Lexington - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Liberty - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Livingston - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Llano - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Lockhart - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Luling - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Mason - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Moulton - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Newton - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Robstown - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of San Augustine - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Sanger - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Schulenburg - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Seymour - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Shiner - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Smithville - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Southwest Rural Elec Assn Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Swisher Electric Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Timpson - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Tulia | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Waelder - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Weimar - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| AEP Texas North Company | Investor Owned | not stated | not stated | state commission |
| City of Whitesboro - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Yoakum - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of San Saba - (TX) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Texas-New Mexico Power Co | Investor Owned | not stated | not stated | state commission |
| Oncor Electric Delivery Company LLC | Investor Owned | not stated | not stated | state commission |
Coverage in TX: national sources plus assessor parcel records, a priority state for deeper collection. 443 campuses on record.
Records from directories are labelled by source and are not verified against a filing. County filings, PUC dockets, air and water permits and corporate registries are collected only where a government publishes them (see depth).