Electric utilities in Iowa
182 utilities serve counties in Iowa; 62 of them serve a county with a data center on record.
| Utility | Ownership | Residential rate | Customers | Rate-setting |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MidAmerican Energy Co | Investor Owned | 10.90¢ | 710,254 | state commission |
| Interstate Power and Light Co | Investor Owned | 17.90¢ | 417,153 | state commission |
| Omaha Public Power District | Political Subdivision | 12.36¢ | 362,918 | its own board |
| Linn County REC | Cooperative | 14.23¢ | 30,323 | its own board |
| City of Ames - (IA) | Municipal | 12.10¢ | 24,979 | its own board |
| MiEnergy Cooperative | Cooperative | 16.66¢ | 21,230 | its own board |
| Eastern Iowa Light & Power Coop | Cooperative | 13.56¢ | 20,749 | its own board |
| Freeborn Mower Electric Cooperative | Cooperative | 15.15¢ | 17,848 | its own board |
| Cedar Falls Utilities | Municipal | 10.42¢ | 17,772 | its own board |
| Midland Power Coop | Cooperative | 13.60¢ | 11,939 | its own board |
| Maquoketa Valley Rrl Elec Coop | Cooperative | 13.76¢ | 11,051 | its own board |
| Board of Water Electric & Communications | Municipal | 12.63¢ | 10,123 | its own board |
| Iowa Lakes Electric Coop | Cooperative | 13.78¢ | 9,714 | its own board |
| North West Rural Electric Coop | Cooperative | 9.26¢ | 9,400 | its own board |
| Access Energy Coop | Cooperative | 14.95¢ | 8,850 | its own board |
| East-Central Iowa Rural Elec Coop | Cooperative | 13.28¢ | 7,368 | its own board |
| Consumers Energy Coop - (IA) | Cooperative | 15.00¢ | 6,922 | its own board |
| Federated Rural Electric Assn | Cooperative | 11.64¢ | 5,780 | its own board |
| Heartland Power Coop | Cooperative | 12.67¢ | 4,389 | its own board |
| Butler County Rural Elec Coop - (IA) | Cooperative | 15.43¢ | 3,898 | its own board |
| Prairie Energy Coop | Cooperative | 14.34¢ | 3,440 | its own board |
| City of Maquoketa - (IA) | Municipal | 13.15¢ | 2,805 | its own board |
| City of Independence - (IA) | Municipal | 13.82¢ | 2,719 | its own board |
| Amana Society Service Co | Investor Owned | 15.53¢ | 709 | state commission |
| City of Preston | Municipal | 15.39¢ | 521 | its own board |
| City of Afton- (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Akron - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Alton | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Algona - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Allamakee-Clayton El Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Alta - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Alta Vista- (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Anita - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Anthon - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Aplington | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Atchison-Holt Electric Coop | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Atlantic Municipal Utilities | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Auburn - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Aurelia - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Bancroft Municipal Utilities | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Bellevue - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Bloomfield - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Boone Valley Electric Coop | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Breda - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Brooklyn - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Burt | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Callender - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Carlisle- (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Cass Electric Coop | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Cascade Municipal Utilities | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Chariton Valley Elec Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Clarke Electric Coop Inc - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Coggon - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Calhoun County Elec Coop Assn | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Corwith - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Coon Rapids | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Corning - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Danville - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Dayton - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Denison - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Denver - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Dike | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Dysart - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Durant - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Earlville - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Eldridge City Utilities | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Ellsworth - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Estherville - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Farmers Electric Coop, Inc - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Fairbank - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Farmers Electric Coop - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Farnhamville - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Fonda - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Fontanelle - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Forest City- (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Franklin Rural Electric Coop - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Fredericksburg - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Glidden - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Raccoon Valley Electric Cooperative | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Gowrie Municipal Utilities | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Grafton Electric - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Graettinger - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Grand Junction - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Greenfield - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Grundy Electric Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Grundy Center Mun Light & Power | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Guthrie County Rural E C A | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Guttenberg | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Grundy County Rural Elec Coop | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Harlan Municipal Utilities - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Hartley - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Harrison County Rrl Elec Coop | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Hawarden - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Hinton | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Hopkinton - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Indianola Municipal Utilities | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Marathon - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Keosauqua Municipal Light & Pwr | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Kimballton - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| La Porte City Utilities | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Lake Mills | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Lake Park - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Lake View - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Lamoni - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Larchwood - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Laurens - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Lawler - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Lehigh - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Lenox - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Livermore- (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Long Grove - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Lyon Rural Electric Coop | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Manilla - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Manning | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Mapleton- (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of McGregor- (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Milford - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Montezuma - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Mt Pleasant - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Neola - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of New Hampton - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| New London Municipal Utilities | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Nishnabotna Valley R E C | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Nobles Cooperative Electric | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Ogden - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Onawa - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Orange City - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Orient - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Osage - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Osceola Electric Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Panora - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Paton - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Paullina - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Pella - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Pocahontas - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Primghar - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Readlyn - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Remsen - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Renwick - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Rock Rapids Municipal Utility | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Rockford- (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Sabula - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Sanborn - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Sergeant Bluff - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Stanton - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Shelby - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Sibley - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Sioux Center | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Southern Iowa Elec Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Spencer - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of State Center - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Story City - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Stratford - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Strawberry Point | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Stuart - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Sumner - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| T I P Rural Electric Coop | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Tipton - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Traer - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Western Iowa Power Coop | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Villisca - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Vinton - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Wall Lake - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Waverly Municipal Elec Utility | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Webster City - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of West Bend | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Westfield - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of West Liberty - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| West Point Utility System | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Whittemore - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Wilton - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Winterset - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Woolstock - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Woodbine - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Woodbury County Rural E C A | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| United Electric Coop, Inc - (MO) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Pella Cooperative Elec Assn | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| WAPA-- Western Area Power Administration | Federal | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Stanhope - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Buffalo - (IA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Southwest Iowa Rural Elec Coop | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Pleasant Hill Community Line | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
Coverage in IA: national sources plus assessor parcel records, a priority state for deeper collection. 87 campuses on record.
Records from directories are labelled by source and are not verified against a filing. County filings, PUC dockets, air and water permits and corporate registries are collected only where a government publishes them (see depth).