Electric utilities in New York
61 utilities serve counties in New York; 45 of them serve a county with a data center on record.
| Utility | Ownership | Residential rate | Customers | Rate-setting |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Consolidated Edison Co-NY Inc | Investor Owned | 34.24¢ | 3,064,038 | state commission |
| FirstEnergy Pennsylvania Electric Co | Investor Owned | 15.45¢ | 1,806,012 | state commission |
| Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. | Investor Owned | 16.67¢ | 1,532,294 | state commission |
| Long Island Power Authority | State | 24.57¢ | 1,029,955 | its own board |
| New York State Elec & Gas Corp | Investor Owned | 17.75¢ | 792,300 | state commission |
| Rochester Gas & Electric Corp | Investor Owned | 17.76¢ | 351,481 | state commission |
| Central Hudson Gas & Elec Corp | Investor Owned | 23.85¢ | 270,859 | state commission |
| Orange & Rockland Utils Inc | Investor Owned | 21.42¢ | 211,011 | state commission |
| Village of Fairport - (NY) | Municipal | 6.69¢ | 16,462 | its own board |
| Jamestown Board of Public Util | Municipal | 8.43¢ | 15,562 | its own board |
| Village of Freeport - (NY) | Municipal | 14.12¢ | 13,353 | its own board |
| City of Plattsburgh - (NY) | Municipal | 5.02¢ | 8,801 | its own board |
| Town of Massena - (NY) | Municipal | 6.19¢ | 8,156 | its own board |
| Village of Solvay - (NY) | Municipal | 6.49¢ | 4,680 | its own board |
| Fishers Island Utility Co Inc | Investor Owned | 38.17¢ | 657 | state commission |
| Village of Arcade - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Akron - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Andover - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Angelica - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Bath Electric Gas & Water | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Bergen - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Boonville - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Brocton - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Castile - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Churchville - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Delaware County Elec Coop Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Endicott - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Frankfort - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Green Island - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Greene - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Greenport - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Groton - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Hamilton - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Holley - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Ilion - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Lake Placid Village, Inc - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Little Valley - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Marathon - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Mayville - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Mohawk Municipal Comm | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| North Shore Towers Apts Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Oneida-Madison Elec Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Otsego Electric Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Penn Yan - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Philadelphia - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Richmondville - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Rockville Centre - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Rouses Point - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Salamanca - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Sherburne - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Sherrill - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Silver Springs - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Skaneateles - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Spencerport - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Springville - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Steuben Rural Elec Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Theresa - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Tupper Lake - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Watkins Glen - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Wellsville - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Westfield - (NY) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
Coverage in NY: national sources plus assessor parcel records. 158 campuses on record.
Records from directories are labelled by source and are not verified against a filing. County filings, PUC dockets, air and water permits and corporate registries are collected only where a government publishes them (see depth).