Electric utilities in North Carolina
109 utilities serve counties in North Carolina; 46 of them serve a county with a data center on record.
| Utility | Ownership | Residential rate | Customers | Rate-setting |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Virginia Electric & Power Co | Investor Owned | 14.09¢ | 2,492,204 | state commission |
| Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC | Investor Owned | 13.95¢ | 2,487,958 | state commission |
| Duke Energy Progress - (NC) | Investor Owned | 15.47¢ | 1,499,792 | state commission |
| EnergyUnited Elec Member Corp | Cooperative | 11.54¢ | 121,995 | its own board |
| Brunswick Electric Member Corp | Cooperative | 13.66¢ | 105,562 | its own board |
| Union Electric Membership Corp - (NC) | Cooperative | 13.37¢ | 84,602 | its own board |
| Jones-Onslow Elec Member Corp | Cooperative | 13.09¢ | 79,690 | its own board |
| Fayetteville Public Works Commission | Municipal | 12.21¢ | 75,987 | its own board |
| Blue Ridge Elec Member Corp - (NC) | Cooperative | 14.59¢ | 71,926 | its own board |
| Rutherford Elec Member Corp | Cooperative | 13.13¢ | 70,743 | its own board |
| Greenville Utilities Comm | Municipal | 11.97¢ | 65,731 | its own board |
| York Electric Coop Inc | Cooperative | 12.65¢ | 65,259 | its own board |
| Lumbee River Elec Member Corp | Cooperative | 12.81¢ | 64,396 | its own board |
| Wake Electric Membership Corp | Cooperative | 13.42¢ | 53,268 | its own board |
| Blue Ridge Mountain EMC - (GA) | Cooperative | 14.03¢ | 46,478 | its own board |
| South River Elec Member Corp | Cooperative | 13.30¢ | 45,730 | its own board |
| Carteret-Craven El Member Corp | Cooperative | 12.15¢ | 38,858 | its own board |
| Town of High Point | Municipal | 11.63¢ | 38,079 | its own board |
| French Broad Elec Member Corp | Cooperative | 14.78¢ | 37,141 | its own board |
| City of Wilson - (NC) | Municipal | 12.13¢ | 32,078 | its own board |
| Randolph Electric Member Corp | Cooperative | 15.91¢ | 31,086 | its own board |
| Four County Elec Member Corp | Cooperative | 13.98¢ | 30,807 | its own board |
| Piedmont Electric Member Corp | Cooperative | 15.60¢ | 30,334 | its own board |
| Mecklenburg Electric Cooperative | Cooperative | 14.50¢ | 30,151 | its own board |
| City of Concord - (NC) | Municipal | 11.84¢ | 29,857 | its own board |
| Haywood Electric Member Corp | Cooperative | 16.61¢ | 29,520 | its own board |
| Town of Apex- (NC) | Municipal | 10.52¢ | 29,289 | its own board |
| Surry-Yadkin Elec Member Corp | Cooperative | 16.06¢ | 28,080 | its own board |
| Mountain Electric Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 12.43¢ | 28,030 | its own board |
| City of Gastonia - (NC) | Municipal | 12.40¢ | 27,008 | its own board |
| City of Rocky Mount - (NC) | Municipal | 12.18¢ | 25,407 | its own board |
| Broad River Electric Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 15.91¢ | 23,622 | its own board |
| Tri-County Elec Member Corp (NC) | Cooperative | 12.76¢ | 22,523 | its own board |
| Central Electric Membership Corp. - (NC) | Cooperative | 14.34¢ | 22,071 | its own board |
| Tideland Electric Member Corp | Cooperative | 16.18¢ | 21,551 | its own board |
| City of New Bern - (NC) | Municipal | 12.65¢ | 21,226 | its own board |
| Pee Dee Electric Member Corp | Cooperative | 14.77¢ | 19,396 | its own board |
| City of Lexington - (NC) | Municipal | 11.75¢ | 18,053 | its own board |
| Tri-State Electric Member Corp | Cooperative | 14.07¢ | 17,506 | its own board |
| Albemarle Electric Member Corp | Cooperative | 14.47¢ | 12,728 | its own board |
| City of Statesville - (NC) | Municipal | 11.71¢ | 12,120 | its own board |
| Roanoke Electric Member Corp | Cooperative | 21.14¢ | 12,049 | its own board |
| City of Washington - (NC) | Municipal | 13.01¢ | 11,547 | its own board |
| City of Elizabeth City - (NC) | Municipal | 11.76¢ | 11,366 | its own board |
| City of Albemarle - (NC) | Municipal | 10.85¢ | 11,248 | its own board |
| Edgecombe-Martin County E M C | Cooperative | 16.06¢ | 10,716 | its own board |
| City of Monroe - (NC) | Municipal | 12.28¢ | 10,543 | its own board |
| City of Kinston - (NC) | Municipal | 13.07¢ | 10,042 | its own board |
| City of Lumberton - (NC) | Municipal | 13.83¢ | 9,983 | its own board |
| Town of Huntersville - (NC) | Municipal | 12.12¢ | 8,080 | its own board |
| New River Light & Power Co | State | 12.45¢ | 7,247 | its own board |
| City of Morganton - (NC) | Municipal | 10.67¢ | 7,055 | its own board |
| Town of Tarboro - (NC) | Municipal | 13.56¢ | 5,592 | its own board |
| Town of Murphy - (NC) | Municipal | 12.85¢ | 3,685 | its own board |
| Town of Black Creek - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Ayden - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Belhaven - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Benson - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Bostic - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Cape Hatteras Elec Member Corp | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Cherryville - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Clayton - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Cornelius - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Dallas - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Drexel - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Enfield - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Farmville - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Forest City | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Fountain - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Edenton - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Fremont - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Granite Falls - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Halifax Electric Member Corp | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Hamilton - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Hertford - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Highlands - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Hobgood | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Hookerton - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Kings Mountain - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of La Grange - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Landis - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Laurinburg - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Lincolnton - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Lucama - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Louisburg - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of MacClesfield - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Maiden - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Newton - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| North Carolina Eastern M P A | Municipal Mktg Authority | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Oak City - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Pitt & Greene Elec Member Corp | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Pikeville - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Pinetops - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Pineville - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Red Springs - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Robersonville - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Scotland Neck - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Selma - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Sharpsburg - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Shelby - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Smithfield - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Southport - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Stantonsburg - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Tennessee Valley Authority | Federal | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Wake Forest - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Walstonburg | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Waynesville - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Windsor- (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Winterville - (NC) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
Coverage in NC: national sources plus assessor parcel records. 77 campuses on record.
Records from directories are labelled by source and are not verified against a filing. County filings, PUC dockets, air and water permits and corporate registries are collected only where a government publishes them (see depth).