Electric utilities in Wisconsin
118 utilities serve counties in Wisconsin; 47 of them serve a county with a data center on record.
| Utility | Ownership | Residential rate | Customers | Rate-setting |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wisconsin Electric Power Co | Investor Owned | 19.23¢ | 1,048,148 | state commission |
| Wisconsin Power & Light Co | Investor Owned | 16.89¢ | 437,211 | state commission |
| Wisconsin Public Service Corp | Investor Owned | 16.23¢ | 411,775 | state commission |
| Northern States Power Co | Investor Owned | 15.80¢ | 228,153 | state commission |
| Madison Gas & Electric Co | Investor Owned | 20.34¢ | 147,501 | state commission |
| East Central Energy | Cooperative | 16.87¢ | 60,432 | its own board |
| Adams-Columbia Electric Coop | Cooperative | 17.63¢ | 35,910 | its own board |
| Polk-Burnett Electric Coop | Cooperative | 15.90¢ | 20,379 | its own board |
| Barron Electric Coop | Cooperative | 15.72¢ | 19,266 | its own board |
| Riverland Energy Cooperative | Cooperative | 16.30¢ | 18,970 | its own board |
| Oakdale Electric Coop | Cooperative | 15.87¢ | 17,027 | its own board |
| Rock Energy Cooperative | Cooperative | 14.72¢ | 16,649 | its own board |
| Sun Prairie Utilities | Municipal | 12.13¢ | 16,647 | its own board |
| Manitowoc Public Utilities | Municipal | 11.15¢ | 16,152 | its own board |
| City of Kaukauna | Municipal | 12.53¢ | 14,543 | its own board |
| Scenic Rivers Energy Coop | Cooperative | 15.23¢ | 13,609 | its own board |
| Northwestern Wisconsin Elec Co | Investor Owned | 13.84¢ | 13,078 | state commission |
| Superior Water and Light Co | Investor Owned | 15.44¢ | 13,072 | state commission |
| Wisconsin Rapids W W & L Comm | Municipal | 13.37¢ | 12,395 | its own board |
| City of Marshfield - (WI) | Municipal | 10.07¢ | 11,928 | its own board |
| Dahlberg Light & Power Co | Investor Owned | 12.62¢ | 10,939 | state commission |
| Oconomowoc Utilities | Municipal | 13.75¢ | 9,972 | its own board |
| Dunn County Electric Coop | Cooperative | 15.45¢ | 9,482 | its own board |
| City of Menasha - (WI) | Municipal | 12.42¢ | 8,607 | its own board |
| City of Stoughton - (WI) | Municipal | 12.60¢ | 8,391 | its own board |
| City of Sturgeon Bay - (WI) | Municipal | 12.47¢ | 7,786 | its own board |
| City of Plymouth - (WI) | Municipal | 11.80¢ | 7,358 | its own board |
| Hartford Electric | Municipal | 11.71¢ | 6,998 | its own board |
| City of River Falls | Municipal | 13.28¢ | 6,709 | its own board |
| Village of Waunakee - (WI) | Municipal | 11.70¢ | 6,677 | its own board |
| Cedarburg Light & Water Comm | Municipal | 12.70¢ | 6,063 | its own board |
| Two Rivers Water & Light | Municipal | 12.71¢ | 5,573 | its own board |
| North Central Power Co Inc | Investor Owned | 15.73¢ | 4,991 | state commission |
| City of New Richmond | Municipal | 11.60¢ | 4,957 | its own board |
| Shawano Municipal Utilities | Municipal | 12.65¢ | 4,932 | its own board |
| Reedsburg Utility Comm | Municipal | 12.08¢ | 4,833 | its own board |
| Lake Mills Light & Water | Municipal | 13.86¢ | 4,124 | its own board |
| Waupun Utilities | Municipal | 11.84¢ | 3,950 | its own board |
| City of Evansville | Municipal | 15.83¢ | 3,806 | its own board |
| Village of Mt. Horeb - (WI) | Municipal | 12.24¢ | 3,734 | its own board |
| Jefferson Utilities | Municipal | 11.87¢ | 3,718 | its own board |
| New London Electric&Water Util | Municipal | 12.29¢ | 3,501 | its own board |
| Slinger Utilities | Municipal | 12.07¢ | 2,586 | its own board |
| City of Columbus - (WI) | Municipal | 12.34¢ | 2,459 | its own board |
| City of Richland Center - (WI) | Municipal | 11.93¢ | 2,434 | its own board |
| City of Black River Falls | Municipal | 14.33¢ | 2,321 | its own board |
| City of New Holstein - (WI) | Municipal | 13.33¢ | 2,255 | its own board |
| Pioneer Power and Light Co | Investor Owned | 17.13¢ | 2,021 | state commission |
| Village of Prairie Du Sac - (WI) | Municipal | 11.32¢ | 1,921 | its own board |
| Algoma Utility Comm | Municipal | 13.02¢ | 1,654 | its own board |
| Waterloo Light & Water Comm | Municipal | 13.92¢ | 1,626 | its own board |
| Brodhead Water & Lighting Comm | Municipal | 13.21¢ | 1,545 | its own board |
| City of Lodi - (WI) | Municipal | 13.29¢ | 1,490 | its own board |
| City of Boscobel - (WI) | Municipal | 10.65¢ | 1,448 | its own board |
| Florence Utility Comm | Municipal | 15.54¢ | 1,428 | its own board |
| Oconto Falls Water & Light Comm | Municipal | 13.67¢ | 1,364 | its own board |
| Hustisford Utilities | Municipal | 13.82¢ | 1,315 | its own board |
| Village of New Glarus - (WI) | Municipal | 13.47¢ | 1,091 | its own board |
| City of Eagle River - (WI) | Municipal | 14.49¢ | 1,055 | its own board |
| City of Westby | Municipal | 11.51¢ | 1,054 | its own board |
| City of Cuba City | Municipal | 11.41¢ | 985 | its own board |
| Juneau Utility Comm | Municipal | 11.69¢ | 970 | its own board |
| Village of Muscoda - (WI) | Municipal | 10.92¢ | 938 | its own board |
| Whitehall Electric Utility | Municipal | 12.30¢ | 778 | its own board |
| Westfield Electric Company | Investor Owned | 17.94¢ | 622 | state commission |
| Consolidated Water Power Co | Investor Owned | 11.54¢ | 70 | state commission |
| City of Arcadia - (WI) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Argyle - (WI) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Bangor - (WI) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Barron - (WI) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Bayfield Electric Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Belmont - (WI) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Badger Power Marketing Authority | Wholesale Power Marketer | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Benton - (WI) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Black Earth - (WI) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Bloomer Electric & Water Co | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Cadott - (WI) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Cashton - (WI) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Central Wisconsin Elec Coop | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Chippewa Valley Electric Coop | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Clark Electric Coop - (WI) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Clintonville - (WI) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Cornell | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Cumberland - (WI) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Eau Claire Electric Coop | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Elkhorn - (WI) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Elroy - (WI) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Fennimore - (WI) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Gresham - (WI) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Hazel Green - (WI) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Jackson Electric Coop, Inc - (WI) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Jump River Electric Coop Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Kiel - (WI) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| La Farge Municipal Electric Co | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Mazomanie - (WI) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Medford - (WI) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Merrillan - (WI) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of New Lisbon | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Oconto Electric Cooperative | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Pardeeville - (WI) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Pierce-Pepin Coop Services | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Price Electric Coop Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Princeton - (WI) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Rice Lake Utilities | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Richland Electric Coop | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Sauk City - (WI) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Sheboygan Falls - (WI) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Shullsburg - (WI) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Spooner - (WI) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| St Croix Electric Coop | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Stratford - (WI) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Taylor Electric Coop - (WI) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Trempealeau - (WI) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Vernon Electric Coop | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Village of Viola - (WI) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Washington Island El Coop, Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Wisconsin Dells Electric Util | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Wonewoc Electric & Water Util | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
Coverage in WI: national sources plus assessor parcel records, a priority state for deeper collection. 50 campuses on record.
Records from directories are labelled by source and are not verified against a filing. County filings, PUC dockets, air and water permits and corporate registries are collected only where a government publishes them (see depth).