Electric utilities in Virginia
32 utilities serve counties in Virginia; 21 of them serve a county with a data center on record.
| Utility | Ownership | Residential rate | Customers | Rate-setting |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Virginia Electric & Power Co | Investor Owned | 14.09¢ | 2,492,204 | state commission |
| Appalachian Power Co | Investor Owned | 16.91¢ | 814,229 | state commission |
| Kentucky Utilities Co | Investor Owned | 11.97¢ | 473,342 | state commission |
| Rappahannock Electric Coop | Cooperative | 14.89¢ | 169,489 | its own board |
| Northern Virginia Elec Coop | Cooperative | 11.57¢ | 167,274 | its own board |
| Shenandoah Valley Elec Coop | Cooperative | 13.81¢ | 85,281 | its own board |
| Southside Electric Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 15.48¢ | 56,846 | its own board |
| City of Danville - (VA) | Municipal | 15.01¢ | 37,781 | its own board |
| Central Virginia Electric Coop | Cooperative | 16.14¢ | 34,893 | its own board |
| A & N Electric Coop | Cooperative | 13.03¢ | 33,349 | its own board |
| Mecklenburg Electric Cooperative | Cooperative | 14.50¢ | 30,151 | its own board |
| Powell Valley Electric Coop | Cooperative | 11.47¢ | 27,736 | its own board |
| City of Harrisonburg - (VA) | Municipal | 11.36¢ | 18,089 | its own board |
| Northern Neck Elec Coop, Inc | Cooperative | 16.12¢ | 17,991 | its own board |
| City of Manassas - (VA) | Municipal | 11.63¢ | 13,947 | its own board |
| Bristol Virginia Utilities | Municipal | 10.99¢ | 13,633 | its own board |
| City of Salem - (VA) | Municipal | 15.11¢ | 11,298 | its own board |
| Prince George Electric Coop | Cooperative | 13.05¢ | 10,954 | its own board |
| Virginia Tech Electric Service | State | 17.18¢ | 5,660 | its own board |
| BARC Electric Coop Inc | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Bedford - (VA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Blackstone - (VA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Community Electric Coop | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Craig-Botetourt Electric Coop | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Culpeper- (VA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Elkton | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Franklin - (VA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Front Royal | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Martinsville - (VA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| City of Radford - (VA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Richlands - (VA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
| Town of Wakefield - (VA) | not in the 2024 Utility Data sheet | not stated | not stated | its own board |
Coverage in VA: national sources, assessor parcels and county or state planning layers, a priority state for deeper collection. 609 campuses on record.
Records from directories are labelled by source and are not verified against a filing. County filings, PUC dockets, air and water permits and corporate registries are collected only where a government publishes them (see depth).