Amazon Data Services, Inc. IAD 50 IAD 60 IAD-71 IAD-78 IAD-79 IAD-80 (74049)
21271 SMITH SWITCH RD
Parcel boundary
Recorded as in service.
- Status
- Operating
- Owner
- Amazon (AWS)
- Capacity
- not stated
- Location known to
- Parcel boundary
- County
- Loudoun County
- State
- Virginia
- Electric utility
- Not identified
- Grid operator
- PJM
Location and nearby
Amazon Data Services, Inc. IAD 50 IAD 60 IAD-71 IAD-78 IAD-79 IAD-80 (74049) is on record as operating in Loudoun County, Virginia. 394 other campuses are on record within 25 miles, 153 of them within 5 miles. The nearest is 0.25 mi away.
Nearest of each kind: Operating 0.25 mi Under construction 1.8 mi Permitted 0.30 mi Proposed 0.57 mi
Nearest campuses on record
- 0.25 mi
NTT Global Data Centers Americas, Inc.- VA1
Operating · Loudoun County, VA
- 0.29 mi
Operating · Loudoun County, VA
- 0.30 mi
Permitted · Loudoun County, VA
- 0.37 mi
Amazon Web Services Datacenter Complex
Operating · Loudoun County, VA
- 0.49 mi
Operating · Loudoun County, VA
- 0.51 mi
Operating · Loudoun County, VA
What is on record
Owner
Amazon (AWS) Strong
The chain
-
permittee name as filed with EPA
AMAZON DATA SERVICES, INC. IAD 50 IAD 60 IAD-71 IAD-78 IAD-79 IAD-80 (74049)
EPA ECHO Exporter, all facilities (weekly refresh) · Sep 6, 2026
Filed by: AMAZON DATA SERVICES, INC. IAD 50 IAD 60 IAD-71 IAD-78 IAD-79 IAD-80 (74049)
- Address on file
- 21271 SMITH SWITCH RD
- Capacity
- not stated
- Building area
- 321,291 sq ft
- Diesel generators
- Air permit on record VA0000005110701047
- Water
- Not collected. State water withdrawal permits are not in this build.
- Electric utility
- More than one utility serves this county, and no filing we hold names which one
- Also recorded as
- AMAZON DATA SERVICES, INC. IAD 50 IAD 60 IAD-71 IAD-78 IAD-79 IAD-80 (74049) · ASHBURN VILLAGE · AWS IAD-50 Smith Switch · AWS IAD-60 Smith Switch · AWS IAD-71 Smith Switch · AWS IAD-78 Interconnection and 30 more
Buildings and phases
29 distinct buildings, parcels or permits make up this campus.
| Name or address | Status | Permit | Area | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ashburn Village | Operating | not stated | not stated | Sep 8, 2026 |
| Ashburn Village | Operating | not stated | not stated | Sep 8, 2026 |
| Beaumeade | Operating | not stated | not stated | Sep 8, 2026 |
| Beaumeade | Operating | not stated | not stated | Sep 8, 2026 |
| Ashburn Village | Operating | B30339440100,B40414930100 | 321,291 sq ft | Sep 8, 2026 |
| Beaumeade | Operating | B60271020100,B50453140100,B50449830100 | 447,228 sq ft | Sep 8, 2026 |
| Beaumeade | Proposed | EPLAN-2024-0077 | 1,176,000 sq ft | Sep 8, 2026 |
| Data center at 21263 SMITH SWITCH RD | Operating | B40414930100 | 120,675 sq ft | Oct 17, 2014 |
| Data center at 21267 SMITH SWITCH RD | Operating | not stated | 321,291 sq ft | Jan 8, 2014 |
| Data center at 21271 SMITH SWITCH RD | Operating | B30339440100 | 200,616 sq ft | May 16, 2013 |
| Data center at 44862 INTERCONNECTION PL | Operating | B50449830100 | 149,076 sq ft | Oct 15, 2015 |
| Data center at 44858 INTERCONNECTION PL | Operating | B50453140100 | 149,076 sq ft | Dec 4, 2015 |
| Data center at 44854 INTERCONNECTION PL | Operating | B60271020100 | 149,076 sq ft | Apr 8, 2016 |
| Data center at 21263 SMITH SWITCH RD | Permitted | not stated | not stated | Aug 16, 2024 |
| Data center at 21271 SMITH SWITCH RD | Permitted | not stated | not stated | Aug 16, 2024 |
| Data center at 44862 INTERCONNECTION PL | Permitted | not stated | not stated | Aug 16, 2024 |
| Data center at 44858 INTERCONNECTION PL | Permitted | not stated | not stated | Aug 16, 2024 |
| Data center at 44854 INTERCONNECTION PL | Permitted | not stated | not stated | Aug 16, 2024 |
| Amazon Web Services | Operating | not stated | not stated | Nov 19, 2022 |
| Amazon IAD50 | Operating | not stated | not stated | Jul 24, 2026 |
| Amazon IAD60 | Operating | not stated | not stated | Sep 19, 2025 |
| Amazon IAD80 | Operating | not stated | not stated | Jul 24, 2026 |
| Data Center - 2020 BP (1.72 Acres) | Operating | not stated | not stated | Sep 8, 2026 |
| Pipeline Data Center (EPLAN-2024-0077) - BLDG-A - 3 Story (3.51 Acres) | Proposed | not stated | not stated | Sep 8, 2026 |
| Pipeline Data Center (EPLAN-2024-0077) - BLDG-B - 3 Story (3.19 Acres) | Proposed | not stated | not stated | Sep 8, 2026 |
| Pipeline Data Center (EPLAN-2024-0077) - BLDG C - 3 Story (2.14 Acres) | Proposed | not stated | not stated | Sep 8, 2026 |
| Data Center - 2013 BP (4.62 Acres) | Operating | not stated | not stated | Sep 8, 2026 |
| Data Center - 2014 BP (2.53 Acres) | Operating | not stated | not stated | Sep 8, 2026 |
| Data Center - 2016 BP (3.38 Acres) | Operating | not stated | not stated | Sep 8, 2026 |
How the status changed
- Operating May 16, 2013
Loudoun County VA GIS: existing and permitted data center buildings: BUILT
Loudoun County VA GIS: existing and permitted data center buildings
- Operating Jan 8, 2014
Loudoun County VA GIS: existing and permitted data center buildings: BUILT
Loudoun County VA GIS: existing and permitted data center buildings
- Operating Oct 17, 2014
Loudoun County VA GIS: existing and permitted data center buildings: BUILT
Loudoun County VA GIS: existing and permitted data center buildings
- Operating Oct 15, 2015
Loudoun County VA GIS: existing and permitted data center buildings: BUILT
Loudoun County VA GIS: existing and permitted data center buildings
- Operating Dec 4, 2015
Loudoun County VA GIS: existing and permitted data center buildings: BUILT
Loudoun County VA GIS: existing and permitted data center buildings
- Operating Apr 8, 2016
Loudoun County VA GIS: existing and permitted data center buildings: BUILT
Loudoun County VA GIS: existing and permitted data center buildings
- Operating Nov 19, 2022 inferred
osm footprint
Overpass data_center query, tile conus-e1 bbox 24.0,-85.0,50.0,-75.0
- Permitted Aug 16, 2024 inferred
Northern Virginia Regional Commission: data centers: Existing or Permitted
- Permitted Aug 16, 2024 inferred
Northern Virginia Regional Commission: data centers: Existing or Permitted
- Permitted Aug 16, 2024 inferred
Northern Virginia Regional Commission: data centers: Existing or Permitted
- Permitted Aug 16, 2024 inferred
Northern Virginia Regional Commission: data centers: Existing or Permitted
- Permitted Aug 16, 2024 inferred
Northern Virginia Regional Commission: data centers: Existing or Permitted
- Permitted Aug 16, 2024 inferred
Northern Virginia Regional Commission: data centers: Existing or Permitted
- Operating Sep 19, 2025 inferred
osm footprint
Overpass data_center query, tile conus-e1 bbox 24.0,-85.0,50.0,-75.0
- Operating Jun 18, 2026 inferred
DCE status 'operating'
- Operating Jul 24, 2026 inferred
osm footprint
Overpass data_center query, tile conus-e1 bbox 24.0,-85.0,50.0,-75.0
- Operating Jul 24, 2026 inferred
osm footprint
Overpass data_center query, tile conus-e1 bbox 24.0,-85.0,50.0,-75.0
- Operating Jul 24, 2026 inferred
osm footprint
Overpass data_center query, tile conus-e1 bbox 24.0,-85.0,50.0,-75.0
- Operating Sep 8, 2026 inferred
Loudoun County VA GIS: parcels in data center land use (by-right): Data Center
Loudoun County VA GIS: parcels in data center land use (by-right)
- Operating Sep 8, 2026 inferred
Loudoun County VA GIS: parcels in data center land use (by-right): Data Center
Loudoun County VA GIS: parcels in data center land use (by-right)
- Operating Sep 8, 2026 inferred
Loudoun County VA GIS: parcels in data center land use (by-right): Data Center
Loudoun County VA GIS: parcels in data center land use (by-right)
- Operating Sep 8, 2026 inferred
Loudoun County VA GIS: parcels in data center land use (by-right): Data Center
Loudoun County VA GIS: parcels in data center land use (by-right)
- Operating Sep 8, 2026 inferred
Loudoun County VA GIS: parcels in data center land use (by-right): Data Center
Loudoun County VA GIS: parcels in data center land use (by-right)
- Operating Sep 8, 2026
Loudoun County VA GIS: existing data center parcels: BUILT Existing
- Operating Sep 8, 2026
Loudoun County VA GIS: existing data center parcels: BUILT Existing
- Proposed Sep 8, 2026
Loudoun County VA GIS: pipeline (proposed) data center areas: Active
Loudoun County VA GIS: pipeline (proposed) data center areas
- Operating Sep 8, 2026 inferred
Loudoun County VA GIS: data center building outlines: Data Centers Building Outlines_08-14-2024/Existing Data Cent
- Proposed Sep 8, 2026 inferred
Loudoun County VA GIS: data center building outlines: ~GE0003u16344.kmz/Pipeline Data Center Building Outline_08-1
- Proposed Sep 8, 2026 inferred
Loudoun County VA GIS: data center building outlines: ~GE0003u16344.kmz/Pipeline Data Center Building Outline_08-1
- Proposed Sep 8, 2026 inferred
Loudoun County VA GIS: data center building outlines: ~GE0003u16344.kmz/Pipeline Data Center Building Outline_08-1
- Operating Sep 8, 2026 inferred
Loudoun County VA GIS: data center building outlines: Data Centers Building Outlines_08-14-2024/Existing Data Cent
- Operating Sep 8, 2026 inferred
Loudoun County VA GIS: data center building outlines: Data Centers Building Outlines_08-14-2024/Existing Data Cent
- Operating Sep 8, 2026 inferred
Loudoun County VA GIS: data center building outlines: Data Centers Building Outlines_08-14-2024/Existing Data Cent
- Operating Sep 8, 2026 inferred
Loudoun County VA GIS: data center building outlines: Data Centers Building Outlines_08-14-2024/Existing Data Cent
- Operating Sep 8, 2026 inferred
Cleanview status 'Operating'
Cleanview state pages: facility markers (id, name, coordinates, status, MW, county)
- Operating Sep 8, 2026 inferred
Cleanview status 'Operating'
Cleanview state pages: facility markers (id, name, coordinates, status, MW, county)
- Operating Sep 8, 2026 inferred
Cleanview status 'Operating'
Cleanview state pages: facility markers (id, name, coordinates, status, MW, county)
- Operating Sep 8, 2026 inferred
Cleanview status 'Operating'
Cleanview state pages: facility markers (id, name, coordinates, status, MW, county)
- Operating Sep 8, 2026 inferred
Cleanview status 'Operating'
Cleanview state pages: facility markers (id, name, coordinates, status, MW, county)
- Operating Sep 8, 2026 inferred
Cleanview status 'Operating'
Cleanview state pages: facility markers (id, name, coordinates, status, MW, county)
- Permitted Sep 6, 2026
epa air permit active
About this data
Evidence
Primary record
A government filing, a federal permit, an assessor parcel or the operator’s own page.
Location known to
Parcel boundary
Matched to an assessor parcel, so the boundary is the parcel.
Independent sources
4
directory, federal permit, government record, osm footprint. Directories count once between them, because they copy each other.
Spotted something wrong? Tell us and we will fix it.
Where this comes from
41 source records back this page. Each row is a document we retrieved and kept, so a claim can be checked against the original.
Cleanview (cleanview.co) © DataCentersExposed contributors, datacentersexposed.com, ODbL 1.0. Contains data © OpenStreetMap contributors.
Free email alerts
Know first when a data center is recorded in Loudoun County
Each time we refresh the public records and a new campus appears in Loudoun County, you get one short email naming it, with the document behind it.